Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-06-29 - 17:32 MDT

June 29, 2000

Greenhorn

Now it is, I guess, time to tell of a flaky thing I once did. It was my third trip overseas for the Company, I thought I was pretty well versed in all the routines on a military base. But there was one routine not known to me.

One Friday, at work I began to realize there was something wrong with me. Saturday and Sunday things grew worse. Monday morning with the overnight onset of a rising fever, after arising, I threw on enough clothes to be decent and headed over to the infirmary. The crowd over there surprised me.

I checked in at the desk and after showing my ID was told to go stand in that line - - - in north central Thailand - - - it was more or less bare bones medicine, the medic never even asked me what was wrong, later when my turn came I went into a booth and disrobed. Pretty soon a medic came in and first thing he asked me, "Okay, where did you get it ?" Dummy me, not getting clued in yet, gave some durn stupid answer.

The communication problem worsened, neither of us quite understanding the other. Neither one of us lost it, but in confusion, trying to understand each other much time was spent.

Finally I was able to make the point that I thought it was a virus and getting the, "yeah, right" response with the further comment that most of he people checking in seemed to have the same complaint. Point unmade yet, he was in the process of setting up some medical procedure that I really didn't see the need for and I remarked, "I sure don't see what checking something down there will tell about bronchitis, the flu and a rising fever,"

He screeched his brakes to a dead stop - - - looked at me and asked me had I been anywhere on the weekend and got a negative answer. So then, out came the stethoscope, the tongue depressor and the things expected by me with an ailment like existed in my body.

They did a bloods, a throat culture, told me I had Strep Throat, gave me some meds and the accompanying instructions and sent me on my way.

I stumbled over to my work area and was greeted with cheers and jeers and questions about where I had gone Saturday night. Finally after days of puzzlement a kind soul clued me in. Monday morning "sick call," was for the guys who had been out painting the town on the weekend and needed a V.D. check.

The last day I was there, at lunch with the men I had been working with I was presented with a nicely gift wrapped present and a card. The card was nice, and the present was a group of Trojans. Yunno, I don't think anyone ever believed me.

In my travels in Southeast Asia there were mistakes made by me which I handled with aplomb, but my face still gets red when I remember that one incident. Oh well, the chance of that happening again is quite dim.

Pleasant memories are there, by far outnumbering the bad ones. The courtesy and consideration this Tech Rep received from all the military people, and the courtesy and hospitality I received from the people of the land who took me to their homes for a dinner still creates a glow in my heart.

In the different countries I went to, on my off duty time I would go out to the markets, eating places and shops not patronized by us "round eyes" seeing sights not ordinarily seen by us. But, no matter where I was, respectfully approaching me would be some one or some ones who requested me to converse with them in English. It was amazing to me the diligence and effort those people made to perfect their grasp of the English language. In our country I have never seen any of our people trying to learn or practise Spanish with a, ? Hispanic, ? Chicano, ? Latino person. I also remember and am constantly seeing today the "Ugly American" attitude of contempt for some one who can't understand or use our language. Over there, it was impossible being first in one country or another, for me to pick up any of the Oriental languages. But by facial expression and hand waving, pointing at something, showing a Railroad ticket my needs were satisfied. The only way I had of thanking anyone was a smile, a handshake (if accepted) or some other dumb expression of thanks. Makes me feel humble.

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008