Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Sept. 26, 2004 - 19:32 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Ever Stop

I guess it could be called a one weekiversary, or some such. We have been moved a week now. Storage shed filled, continuous trips to Goodwill or gifts to family and still we only have a path that can be walked through, here in our duplex.

During the week there have been trips to our doctors, supermarkets, filling stations all of the necessary stuff of life which seems to be an imposition during settle-in time.

So what do I did on this one weekiversary ? Very, very little. Heather went to a shower for a niece's daughter this afternoon. That was the huge activity for today.

Knowing that there would be no visitors to mi casa today I, by golly, slept the sleep. I did manage to get up before noon, barely. Sitting at table, coffee at hand and breakfast and daily pills on the table, I attacked the Sunday paper. Our two biggest newspapers in town are running in a Joint Operating Association, Which to my mind is a mess in a way. As I understand it the Rocky Mountain News has the better equipment and combining the rest of the business assets with The Denver Post. Hoping to keep both of them from financially bleeding to death. Or so it is said.

Through the week my newspaper says "Rocky Mountain News." The funny thing is that on Sunday the Paper is headed "The Denver Post", but has the funnies from both papers and other things unique to each paper. A bit puzzling, it is, as the News is more liberal than the Post. So a news filter must be put in place to try to sift the actuality from the blather.

By that time my breakfast (?) had pretty well passed through my system and Heather went off to her shower. I think I answered two e-mails and posted to a message board I belong to. Then it was bed again, Heather waking me when she got home about six PM.

All in all a very enjoyable and restful day for me and a pleasant shower day for Heather.

Come tomorrow we will turn in our door keys, mailbox keys, door flinker for underground parking and the little card from the windshield showing that we were legal in the underground. Hopefully bidding management at the complex a pleasant goodbye and thanking them for the superb services they rendered to us.

Then to a doctors appointment for Heather in the afternoon, afterwards, a trip across town to where we live in rush hour traffic, which is more clotted than ever now.

On into the coming week, neither of us knows the additional things occurring which will gobble up time away from us really getting settled in. Seems that things pass me by faster than ever now, things more crowded, cars speeding along in their nose to tail fashion and it makes me wonder a bit, will all this to-do Ever Stop ? . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008