Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-07-02 - 22:30 MDT

July 2, 2000

Family Again

Today I did the usual bachelor housekeeping chores, kicking cans and TV dinner cartons out of the path most traveled. I then sat me down over a cup of coffee and and our huge Sunday paper, I vary my routine on Sunday and read the comics and the Parade first, then the Spotlight section before I wade into the bad news. This order a flip-flop from usual week day procedure, need to do it that way to be able to wade through all the bad stuff without barfing.

Over a week ago my middle daughter invited me out to have lunch to a place of my choice. I could have opted for a ritzier place and have an inordinate amount of money spent on me, however, I chose the Denny's nearest to us where Heather and I go. At my level of activity, my body reacts well to their Senior menu, just about the right amount.

She and her husband came by to pick me up and she said, "Let's sit on the patio for a little while, I think big brother and his wife are going with us too. They will be by shortly." We sat and talked and soon here he and his wife appeared accompanied with their son and daughter-in-law.

We were seven seated at a hastily prepared spot for us. Of course we all ordered, each to our own choice and then went into the main order of business - - - - visiting. At least one of each pair works and sometimes both and opportunities to get together are rare.

That crafty little daughter of mine set this up to be a group gathering to try to an bolster old man's self esteem, one who misses his wife. It worked fabulously well. She and her husband brought me home and sat out on the patio visiting for a while before they left.

A day well spent for me, comforted, content and not too full a stomach. Basking in the realization, again, that families and family love are the most treasured things. More so for me who came from a family with only one child, few relatives in town and they some what aloof. It is truly wonderful, and I am thankful. Amen

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008