Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Oct. 31, 2004 - 20:47 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Runneth Over

Hard to put it into words. A day to remember for me.

Up much earlier than I am used to, so as to make coffee and get breakfast for Heather and help her get her casted arm into her clothes. Makes me feel good to be doing things for her that she needs done. Stuff that she ordinarily does for herself and me.

There were some honey dos to cope with and a trip for last minute stuff such as milk etc. Daughter told Heather and I the other day to expect company late Sunday.

We had things cleaned up and the big bowl of candies by the door, preparing for Halloween trick-or-treaters.

Those things taken care of and some e-mails answered I sat down in the front room waiting for company, eased back in my chair and continued to read Girl Clown by Mary Wise

Her book is everything I have read about it and more. She is I think going to do NaNoWriMo again this November and I devoutly pray that another book comes of her efforts this year. Can't wait.

Read the Sunday funnies and the rest of the paper in between as well. Then daughter, granddaughter and grandaughter-in-law came over with what seemed about fifty of the great-grands and some of their friends of which even the youngest of this side of our family is old enough to walk, run and talk up a storm. All prepared to visit and stuff the kids. There were doughnuts, different candies, coffee for the big folk. Our duplex was stuffed with people, people who were behaving themselves nicely, even the young ones.

Being an only child, this life I lead now is just exactly the one I have always dreamed about. One of our great grands, a girl of eleven, but physically maybe 14 who is so very eager to grow up that she is bursting at the seams. She handles it well though, but is gaining the grace of a much older person. Some of our great-grands are teeny tiny enough that I can grab them as they go by, put 'em on my lap, give them a hug and sweet talk them and then set them back on the floor so they can do their thing. Now and then one of them will come over and crawl up on my lap and hold very serious conversation with me. Serious for them, delightful for me as I wrack my brain finding words at their level to reply.

Then they were gone, the house quieted. It had started raining early, we only had a few kids trick-or-treating here. Then the family descended on us. Each kid gathered loot for their bags and had hot chocolate and doughnuts and played with each other and allowed grown ups to tease them.

Then suddenly our house was empty and silent. Heather turned on her TV, I read more of Girl Clown, both of us on the alert for late trick-or-treaters.

Finally when it began to snow we closed the blinds, turned out the extraneous lights, thus ending our stint of trick-or-treating for year 2004. Tonight Heather was thrilled and happy, she surely deserved that.

Now I am at keyboard doing what I like to do best, with a full heart, a singing soul and contentment filling my psyche. I could go on at great length about today, but truly my cup Runneth Over . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008