Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Nov. 07, 2004 - 19:24 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Old Fool

I'm probably overly sentimental and all things of that classification. Mea culpa, so be it, I yam what I yam.

Some years ago, before my Dad died we were able to get us all together. Four generations of Douglas xxxxxxs. Our grandson was a bit squirty then, probably not in his teens yet.

Saturday we went to our great-grandson Doug's first birthday, today to his church dedication. Then to dinner at his house.

Then out came the cameras, both digital and film, camcorders mixed with massive amounts of pleasant and happy talk.

For me the peak was when our son, his son, and his son's son were posed with me - great grandpa for pictures. Four generations all together. Little Doug's Grandpa from the maternal side of the family was there and had pictures taken with his grandson, as well as his maternal Grandma.

Dad died at age 80 in 1978, which if he had lived would make him 106 years old. How I wish he could have lived to see the latest rascal of the family. He really lived it up when we had our children and when our children began to have their own, he was happy to the max.

Wish he could have been here, then it would be five generation's photos to hang on everyone's wall.

Although I am pretty deaf, it was possible for me and Doug's maternal grandpa to have one on one conversation for quite awhile. He retired from the same company I did, has similar interests, experiences and is writing a story about early airlines, mostly the beginnings of Pan Am. We compared notes on places we each had been in Japan and the Philipines. All in all it was super pleasant to talk with someone near my age having similar experiences and travels.

So, on down the line possibly I will be able to read Doug's grandpa's book. Which leads to a bit of excited anticipation for me.

Although all sorts of political blather is going on now, most of which is conjecture at this point, my excitement and pleasure has been with my beloved family. Being with our son and his son, and his son's son was a treat in itself. But the company was excellence personified. A complete ball, just without the dancing and music.

So, after a great day I shall close proudly admitting being a sentimental Old Fool . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008