Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Nov. 11, 2004 - 21:09 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Always Remember

It has been a day of reflection for me. I remember it used to be Armistice Day - you know the 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11th month. Then came World War Two, Korea, Viet Nam and now Iraq.

There is one thing in common with all those terrible things, our men slain in battle or murdered by ?insurgents? Our men and women who were doing their best to fight for our country's welfare at the sacrifice of their own lives. Then there are the halt, the lame, the blind, the almost empty shells of humanity who are missing some of their minds who still lead the best lives they can, some of them forgotten in hospitals, nursing homes and out of the eye of the public places, including the ranks of the homeless. All gave the most they could.

It has been their day and we should have been much more respectful and remember that we are here as free as we are because of them.

Then, not to degrade or belittle our military veterans, in an e-mail to Bonnie today I brought forth this thought.

There are veteran Police men, veteran Firemen, veteran highway Patrolmen, Ambulance EMT veterans and veteran doctors (which is one reason I live today) and many other veterans who risked life and limb in our behalf. My profound thanks to them also. They deserve what can be given them in homage.

Then, I think that most parents are veterans, some more battle scarred than others -- but veterans nonetheless. My parents, what can I say ? Perhaps Purple Hearts For The Worried and Weary ? There at the foot of God is a place for all of them I think.

I guess now I bow my head and vow to Always Remember . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008