Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Nov. 29, 2004 - 19:42 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Oozing Out

Conjectural thinking by the media on things about government financial thinking.

An article in Sunday's Denver Post by Richard W. Stevenson of THe New York Times. Titled:

Social Security plan adds U.S. debt

President Bush and Republicans who control Congress reportedly accept that the government must borrow to pay retirees while starting investment accounts

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++

There are many words in the article, much of which are conjecture. So, what the heck, I may well conjecture too, or at least try to make sense of nonsense.

First off, it seems to me that the philosophy of the Republicans has been, "less government is more." Isn't that the mantra chanted by the right ?

Now, Mr. Bush has been pushing an investment account system into Social Security. So it is obvious to me that many more layers of bureaucracy will be added to run that system. More tax dollars to be spent than saved it looks to me.

Just thinking and wondering about it. Are the investment accounts going to be run like a mutual fund with some sort of "brains" trying to make investments wisely for "Old Joe on the Streets," without his say-so ? I can just see how that will go over with the public when they have seen some of the giants in that part of business going under.

Okay, so perhaps it will be up to the man who works a job to do his own investing ? How is that going to profit anyone ? Except people who are going to thrive on the new system by working the suckers.

I don't know, I confuse easily, but it seems to me like we're a ship with a big leak and the captain ordering the sea water valves to be opened so more water can get in and sink the boat.

Or like us being in quicksand with no one near to throw us a rope, as we slowly sink without defense. Perhaps I feel myself like the "Little Dutch Boy" with his finger in a hole in the dike, noticing that there are many more leaks, watching the water and the mud Oozing Out . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008