Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-07-08 - 07:19 MDT

July 8, 2000

Swab The Decks

Heather left for Oregon June 21 to take care of two grandchildren, and is due back home here the evening of the 10 th.

Major bachelor panic.

In stumbling around this morning I noted the huge pile of dirty dishes, the mound of rat infested garbage, the unswept unmopped floors and the pile of dirty towels and washrags - - plus a few thousand other things - - - too numerous to think about - - - shiver, shake.

I guess in a way, I am a typical husband, living day to day with the unconscious mindset that somehow things around the house will be taken care of by the wife from long distance by Mental-Kinetics.

Time, Tide, Windex and a lot of elbow grease and a modicum of applied common sense might make this place acceptable to Heather in time - - - I sure hope so.

Reminds me of the time - many years ago when with our first child due and living with another couple, his wife was visiting relatives in California and Heather went to hospital to do the birthing ordeal. Back then Mommas were kept in durance vile for at least ten days. So Buddy and I lived high on the hog, letting the place go to rack and ruin amongst a pile of beer bottles. Heather was scheduled to come home the next day and Buddy and I began to clean the Augean Stables with no river close enough to help. Nine A M Heather calls from hospital and says to come pick her up that her doctor is letting her come home a day early. Bringing a wobbly wife and a new son home to a disaster area is a disgraceful thing - - I think that I was fully forgiven for that just before she left for Oregon this time. So - - - - to work. There is a lady in New Brunswick who might laugh at me a bit.

Andrea 0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008