Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Dec. 19, 2004 - 23:30 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Magic In The Air

On the year that Heather and I go to Oregon to spend Christmas and New Year's with our daughter and her family, our Denver family has a grand premie-Christmas party so that Heather and I can be a part of their Christmas too. The little kids get presents as well as Heather and I.

Moves me deeply too as the kids are married and have to visit the mates families too at Christmas. They really extend themselves, they do.

Everybody brought at least one dish and the party was at grand-daughter's house, it has more room than anyone else has. The thing of note about all these goodies is that every one present gets a particular dish that is their favorite. Funny thing, over the years that it seems that one person's favorite is often adopted by others. When this first started, I was the only one who tucked into the big cranberry salad, and we had a generous ration of left over salad to take home. Each year the same amount of salad is made, today there was none to spare to bring home. Good thing, we won't be there to eat any.

Each Christmas party, no matter where is special to us. But this year, a member of our family who was thought to be no longer desirous to be in touch with us, arranged to fly to Denver to be with us. Which is a cause for great celebration.

We get to see Christmas time in the eyes of those littles who are first experiencing it, the joy, the wonder of it all.

The closer it gets to Christmas the more my heart glows. One little thing before we go, just a token: Merry Christmas

There is verily Magic In The Air . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008