Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-07-09 - 16:53 DMT

July 9, 2000

Sense ?

It is a hard thing, trying to find one's way through the wilderness of briars of dissent, nettles of divisiveness, and poison ivy of ill will. Several times recently some journalists have pulled down their forum operation. One whose stated reason was because there was no time to cope with it. The reason I suspect is that there was too much bickering, backbiting and character assassination over ego ridden, macho issues.

Recently another forum bit the dust, it makes me hurt - soul sore - to see these things happen.

I don't know everything, if I did, I would be sitting at the right hand of God and would be much more merciful than the know-it-alls who cause these things to happen.

There are enough different subjects to peacefully disagree on. And peaceful disagreement seems to be replaced by spiteful character assassination.

Recently it seems that there was one of those politically correct militants who took issue of midgets being mentioned in someones entry, and I don't recall that midgets were referred to in an insulting way.

I think that we have become a euphemistic society. No one any more dare refer to a spade as a bloody damn shovel, geez that could be a hanging offense. Euphemisms, I park in a euphemistic parking space because I am CRIPPLED dammit. Euphemisms try to camouflage actualties by terms unsuitable for the purpose. And the thing that makes one weep is that there are so many pitched battles over misinterpretation by a zealous, raving, militant over a definition of one certain euphemism or another. Shorty is no longer an acceptable nickname because the poor guy is, "vertically challenged," two words to cover up a fact. A janitor being called a, "sanitary engineer," still pushing the same broom - - I don't think he is fooled - - but maybe some of the squeaky clean Euphemists are able to sooth their conscience about life in general by the use of, "paint over," language. I wonder, do we now have a High Church of Euphemism ?

It seems to me that in this present day a good portion of our population are devoted to finding something to be insulted about and embark on their version of a raving, foaming at the mouth thing that there is no true reason for.

My line of thought is to try to find grounds for, if not agreement, then plain understanding and equanimity.

Scheiss - - you kids, behave yourselves, or I will tell your dads. The serenity prayer has great power over peace of mind.

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008