Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Dec. 27, 2004 - 16:36 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Why Not ?

Funny how one encounters a person who is one I thought to be a local, but is one publishing in another venue. I wonder how many people read his stuff. Bill Husted, who writes for The Atlanta Journal-Constitution -- through Cox News Service it seems. Wonder if he is published nation wide ? Although I have no expertise in the field I have always read his articles. He has one in The Register-Guard December 26th which I think presents a good idea and fantastic philosophy. In full:

An idea to give old gadgets new life

"This is the time of the year when I wish I were still a kid. It's not so much that I miss having hair -- worse things have been lost. Christmas has lost some of its magic for me."

"As usual I blame technology."

"At my house, my wife will get a nice new Palm, a midget computer that will soon get lost with the rest of the stuff in her purse. It's practical. In her real estate job, it'll take the place of a cellphone and a financial calculator. Her Palm includes a phone. So what could make more sense than replacing a bunch of gadgets with just one ?"

"That's the trouble with buying technology gadgets as a holiday gift -- whether it's a new computer or a fancy cellphone. It all makes sense and is very practical. Even the arguments for a big-screen TV are logical. After all, the world is moving to high-definition broadcasts, and sooner or later the family will need a television like that."

"I'd give anything to find a model airplane or electric train under the tree this year."

"But my gifts almost certainly will be practical. I hope yours won't be."

"Before I owned an uninterruptible power supply, I used those occasions to take a nap. But now, after gettting one as a gift, I can keep on working. Technology has no sense of humor at all."

"That's why I was sitting on the porch, worried about the holidays. I felt a little hopeless, because the presents are all purchased by now at my house and probably at yours too."

"Then I realized that there was a way that technology could be romantic and warm. Best yet, it's not too late. In fact, it's the perfect time, it's a way to save Christmas."

"Just take a deep breath, and we'll cook up a holiday miracle together -- we will build it from transistors, chips and the occasional DVD drive. It's not easy, even for a certified wizard of technology such as myself. So I need your help."

"Here's what I propose, as a way to ungrinch the holidays."

"Let's take some of our old technology and find new homes for it. Sometimes the very best thing a person can do with an old computer is to give it away."

"That old computer isn't worth much if you try to sell it. But it is something precious in the right hands. If you ask around, you'll find someone who would treasure it. You may need to spend some time asking questions at your church, at a school or even at an organized charity. But going to a little trouble is half the joy of this high-tech m iracle we are building together. Instead of worrying about tax deductions and finding the most convenient way to get rid of the computer, turn this into a quest."

"There are old people, maybe in your own family, who would be able to use the computer as a way to exchange e-mail with family and friends. browsing on the Web will let them travel to places where their legs can no longer go."

"Or maybe there is a kid living in a family where a winter coat is a luxury. The gift of a computer would be, well, a miracle. Go find that kid and give them the computer."

"You can throw in the software, too. That's perfectly legal as long as you remove those same programs from your own computer."

"Now that DVD players are so cheap, you may be replacing one of those. Or you could have a television that works just fine but has been pushed out of the den by a fancy plasma screen. Give that old-but-servicable sucker away. Find it a new home where it will shine."

"I know I'm asking a lot of you."

"What I am suggesting is a heck of a lot more difficult than writing a check to your favorite charity. Don't get me wrong: I'm not against writing checks to charities."

"My holiday miracle is in addition to that, not a way to replace it."

"This is a sure-fire miracle. There are times when I write about installing a hard disk or hooking up a new printer. You may faithfully follow my directions but still end up with a disaster. but this time, I promise. If you follow these directions, you will fix something more important than a computer."

+++++++++++++++++++++++++

So, on a very small scale for me I plan to find a home for my Webtv set that has served me well and faithfully. I still have the instruction book and things like that. Some old person like me who has a TV and would like to keep in touch with his or her world. Or a young person who has no means of buying something as economical as one, could surf the wide world and learn as much or more than at school. As Nike says, "Just do it," Why Not ? . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008