Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-07-11 - 16:53 MDT

July 11, 2000

Huh ? ?

Everyone seems to be talking and as fast and as loud as they can. Not talking to anyone but at them, blather aimed like a gun. We appear to vacillate between sinful oversensitivity to the flip-flop demonstrated by the old west joke, "O.K. Bill, if you want a trial of this miserable horsethief - - - we'll have it right after we hang him." (paraphrase on Gary Larson I think)

Are you fat ? Thaaats Baaad, and all your fault toooo, 'cause some smartass jingoist with a facile pen chooses to pick on fat people.

It looks to me as if we have almost forgotten how to listen to someone slowly speaking, in a polite tone expressing their point of view. Every time I sacrifice the time to watch TV on some specific panel subject, these well respected, upright citizens will NOT listen to each other - - they wait for a slight hesitation in the flow and then burst in - - - often they will even try to overwhelm another speaker by sheer volume alone. Doctors if they take the time to come to a bored standstill and give a patient a chance to describe a symptom, they don't really listen and then fail to understand what the patient is saying.

Reminds me of the cartoon showing a headstone at a grave for John Doe - - engraved below the birth and death year is the phrase, "I told you I was sick !" Sounds far fetched ? A tad maybe . . . . . how often though are we in the midst of saying something to someone and it becomes obvious to you that they are reluctantly courteous enough to appear to listen and at the very first inhalation of the speaker, the (listener ?) other party comes out with the already mentally composed comment that they have stored in their head rather than truly listen, to blast out rapid fire at the first opportunity.

The contest of, "Oh Yeah ? You think that's bad wait I tell you what happened to me last year." First liar always loses. Have I ever done this ? Sure I have and maybe will make a guess that most other men have at one time or another.

It seems to be with us at all levels of society and government as well as international relations

Irish Catholics are in the process of slaughtering or being slaughtered by the Protestants - - Screaming at each other, not listening, not trying to arrive at a peaceful solution. What will be the real result at Camp David this time ?

Walk a mile in the other man's shoes ? Why do that if a well aimed kick to the groin with your brogans will do him in ? Seems that I remember Ho Chi Min coming to our big wheels and asking for assistance to ameliorate the conditions that the "Michelin" French caused them to suffer. If our government had listened, would it have gone to the French and to the world with their mouths open wide enough open that their bum could be plainly seen down that awful hole ? My guess is that would have been the least disastrous course they would have taken

It does make me ashamed. In the countries I have been in, the care for and the courtesy received by me has been outstanding. Open hearted and unasked or paid for.

Maybe it is that we are treated in the manner we treat others ? AKA The Golden Rule - - - - - - Come on, diversity does NOT have to come with an overdose of dissension.

I await the tactful sound of one hand clapping.

The, "Adventures In Living," lady who writes in a common sense manner is worth taking a read. Andrea

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008