Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jan. 12, 2005 - 23:12 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

I Have It All

Sitting here, late at night with a card bearing a beautiful photograph of a headland and beach on North Island, New Zealand in front of my keyboad.

Cold here, snowed last night about five inches. but I can feel the sun reflected on me from the white sands of that New Zealand beach. In the foreground are flowers that are so lush in their simple way that it makes me grateful that such things exist.

After a busy day trying to get things as set as I can help, relaxing at my keyboard and talking to myself and anyone who cares to peer over my shoulder. I begin to count my blessings.

Our own nuclear family. We are so blessed with them, what they are and who they are they did themselves and did it well. All Heather and I did was to love them to the utmost, encourage them, feed, house, clothe them and try to show by example how they should be. Guess we did a fair job, at least they took it from there and did well.

Extended family, the only complaint I have there is that those beloved folks are gradually dying off, we miss them. Otherwise I am thankful that Heather's folks accepted this only child as one of them, made a complete person out of a lonely, only boy.

Cyber extended family. Some of these folks don't even know I consider them family, but in my mind they are. Most of them have babies or youngsters, teenagers and young adults who have moved on to college and things such as that. Having had our share of children, grandchildren and great grandchildren it is a thrill to me to read accounts of parenting that parallel ours.

Jessamyn is a lady I followed before she got married and all through her pregnancy. Her accounts of her and her Katys relationship are beautiful. Another Mother I have been following for about as long is The Red Haired Girl, two pregnancies, two sons, a move to another town. What experiences she has. Rob of Dern Tootin' and his adorable Schuyler he and his Julie doing the best they can for her, many of us here hoping that by some miracle her problems get solved and she be able to communicate with others. Sunshyn who has suffered some of my ills, only to a greater extent now trying to raise her grandson.

Many journals are by folks trying to adjust to difficulties -- Heather and I had our share of those too.

Each person whose journal, blog or diary I follow say things that talk to my heart. Sure, I got sucked in by the Kaycee shambles. It hurt and in a way still does, many of us were taken in for quite a long time on that con.

But not all folks are liars, scammers, train wreck types. Gradually after a time a person's true nature begins to shine through, leastways I think so.

My dearly beloved Heather who has been aging beside me, who has been my love, guide and staunch supporter is still here, tired but such a gracious and kind person. Her eightieth birthday party on Saturday will be such a happy festive event. Our kids and grandkids are putting it all together for their Mother, Grandmother and in some instances Greatgrandmother.

So I am a bit bent, not quite broken, almost deaf as a proverbial post, getting a bit more feeble as my 84th approaches but happy as happy can be, thankful that I Have It All . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008