Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jan. 15, 2005 - 22:17 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Pure Joy

This has been one of the longest days and surely one of the happiest days of my life.

It began with laying in bed mulling over getting up, and finally at daybreak I did get up. Stumbling around seeking coffee and sympathy I noticed daughter and Heather had obviously been up for who knows how long ?

Since a great deal of the fancy stuff for the party originated here, they assembled it in boxes and put it near to door to be loaded.

Then I think it was while I was dunking a banana in my morning Mocha trying to come fully awake, they were showering and getting ready to go.

I was allowed quite a bit of leeway to get ready as one of our sons-in-law was due to pick me up shortly before the party was to begin and take us to the party.

About the time it was to begin people began to filter in, until it swelled and became a hall full of people. Friends, relatives, old schoolmates and folks Heather had worked with, when daughter was a baby.

Nobody was able to get an accurate attendance count because there was a roil on the boil, even while eating there were folks holding plates full of food in one hand and coffee, tea or punch in the other milling around and visiting.

Heather was in her blissful element, and she couldn't be persuaded to sit down except when she had a baby in her arms, which was quite often. She, for sure, was on a happiness tour around the hall.

I think I had more fun at her eightieth birthday party than at mine four years ago. I was one of the perapatetic strollers, visiting with folks I seldom see and others I see often. Holding my share of babies, grabbing littles for a hug or tickling the littles as they ran by. Sitting and visiting one on one with folks and watching Heather across the room doing likewise.

Finally people began drifting by, saying their adieus and leaving. As the hall emptied the family (all but me - the Ref put me on the bench at the sidelines) got busy cleaning and washing the dishes and silverware, putting furniture where it normally belongs, vacuuming the hall and such things.

I was ferried home by the same son-in-law who brought me to the party, I had a chance to nap a bit before the ladies got home. I helped unload the stuff and helped get hot microwave dinners on the table, including hot tea or milk and we ate. Can't quite figure out where we got the room to tuck more in, but we managed.

Sitting down to digest we had a visit from our oldest son and his wife. He taking the chance to have a good visit with his sister - and we all visited. Me being behind as I couldn't hear well, but keeping up as well as one could expect.

After son and his mate left Heather and Daughter sat down to watch TV for a spell. The spell was quite short for Heather, who went sound asleep in her chair.

Beloved daughter started re-arranging everything in the kitchen, laundry room and china closet. She said to me, "By the time Mom finds out all I have done, I will be home and you will have to stand against the wall to be shot." Yeah, right, me the innocent getaway driver. What she did made excellent sense, I just hope that my memory has been well filled on what went where and the reasons for such.

Heather received many snail mail birthday cards, many e-mail birthday wishes, and a bunch of e-cards too. She glowed. My thanks to all who read my diary and those in my particular circle-of-friends who sent greetings, they were greatly appreciated by her and myself.

Finally we got Heather to go to bed, daughter settling down for the night, and me to make a place holder entry for the night. No ranting over what happened or what I fear will happen, just sitting at the keyboard, utterly fatigued and filled with Pure Joy . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008