Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-07-13 - 16:36 MDT

July 13, 2000

Bubble In The Level

Several of my friends (as old or older than me) have an unwanted rider, pain of varying degrees and fluctuating at times. Some of the people I have had the good fortune to have for friends have been met on the net are in a similar situation. No one of us seems to admit to hurting worse than another, but when I get up in the middle of the night to ease my pain, I turn on my Webtv and see who is about. No need to ask if they are hurting too. No train wrecking - - they tell it like it is and have many interesting insights to share.

Today, I came out of my doggerel kennel with my garbled thoughts.

WAXING AND WANING

In the lonely stretches of the night,

Where should be sleep,

It, by pain has been put to flight,

Thusly, rising, moving about to ease and in contemplation deep,

He strives for a disclosure bright,

And with courage, to keep,

A meeting with Dawn's sunlight. ==========================================================

THERE ARE NO RULES

The pain is everywhere,

In mind or body, it is there,

Things, one cannot to others declare,

And I ? your pain cannot share,

It is for each to personally bear,

It is not fair, it is not fair.

There is empathy,

It is not a pill,

More like a deep sympathy,

Leaving the pain there still,

It is not fair, it is not fair.

A kind word or a pat,

Gives courage to continue on

And gird our loins at that,

For battle to make pain begone,

Still - - it isn't fair, it isn't fair. ========================================================== I have so much admiration for those who are in much more pain than I, those who bear it for the most part silently. Who only talk to others who are passengers on the same ship and complain about the same fare.

The other day on my trip to our post office there was a young man, probably in his twenties, who, though wearing a clumsy cast on his leg, hurried on his crutches to hold the door open for me. I had much gratitude and thanked him sincerely. But as I opened my box and was getting my mail out, I pondered and thought, "That young man has a close relative who is suffering through one handicap or another." He did not administer a pain pill - - But he sure did make my day shine like a sun at midnight - - - and those you don't see very often.

And there those who are not in physical pain but in the depths of unreality and fear. I was there once, and a kind word and a tender touch had much to do with my recovery. Shalom

148 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008