Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jan. 28, 2005 - 22:02 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

A Challenge

A meme ? Now that must be something new around the internet world. My Franklin electronic dictionary glares at it and offers similar words but just burps at "meme."

Jim of Jim's Journal passes this on, geting the challenge from Bozoette. So what can I do ? Try to follow suit as well as possible. Being deaf, not stone deaf but more nearly so than I want, clad in music that goes on in my head. Much of it is instrumental, even though some of it does have words.

So here goes:

WHAT IS THE TOTAL AMOUNT OF MUSIC FILES IN YOUR COMPUTER ?

Unless Dell put some in there are no music files on my computer.

WHAT WAS THE LAST CD YOU BOUGHT ?

A long time ago while I could still hear fairly well I bought a cube of Mozart music. One piece was the one that the theme of Elvira Madigan was made from.

WHAT WAS THE LAST SONG YOU LISTENED TO BEFORE GETTING THIS MESSAGE ?

One that runs through me head often, it is so peaceful and gentle, "Flow GENTLY SWEET AFTON." A song that has been with me from first grade. Think Bobbie Burns wrote it.

WRITE DOWN FIVE SONGS THAT MEAN A LOT TO YOU.

1. - Flow Gently Sweet Afton, of course.

2. - Hey Jude -- Beatles I think.

3. - How Great Thou Art, especially strong in my mental audio as sung by George Beverly Shea at Billy Graham's Crusade here in Denver long ago.

4. - Jesu, Joy Of Man's Desiring - - - I have never heard it sung, all my life it has been a prime great organ piece. But it sings of joy to my heart and the swirling, upward spiraling melody that swoops back downs and takes me aloft once again -- it is to me a SONG.

5. - I Had A Dream, a popular song of my childhood that my Dad often sang to my Mom. "I had a dream dear, you had one too -- Mine was the best of all -- because it was of you."

I do have one or two advantages over hearing folk. It is the same every time for me. The meaning is there and seems to me is even deeper than when I could hear well. It resounds in my chest as it did when I was young. And possibly like the rest of you to a certain extent, I hear all that music in my dreams too.

Not too bad for a deaf man answering A Challenge . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008