Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Feb. 02, 2005 - 20:58 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

Other Things

Last night Heather moved wrong or twisted wrong and her knee lit afire. Not the bad one, but the one she considered to be the Good One. She packed it in after taking two extra strength Tylenols.

This morning I helped her get up and dug up the walker that has been around for an eternity, helped her get to her chair and get comfortable and made coffee and served her her cereal and banana she has in the mornings.

She took Tylenol with breakfast and then came the phoning for an appointment at a clinic that was in reasonable distance from where we live. After a couple of call backs she got one for two o'clock this afternoon.

At least that is some advantage in belonging to an HMO, at least getting an appointment for the same day is a "can be done type of thing."

Slow going for the lady with the walker, she wouldn't let me go in and get a wheel chair for her but insisted on going in on her own. Came the check-in and then the interminable wait to be seen.

Heather sitting there hurting and me the proverbial bump on a log trying to find conversation to keep the ball rolling without much luck.

Then being called in and vitals taken and a, "What brings you here today ?" Then sitting in the little office waiting for the doctor. I think they age double time during their day to match up with the wait of the patients. Anyway this grey haired gentleman did what doctors do and after much questioning and so forth Heather went to X-ray - then having to wait for the pic and taking it with us back to his office we went and waited some more.

Finally he came in and made the classic statement, "I see you have some arthritis in that knee." Heather answered in her dulcet tones, "I have been aware of that for some time doctor. My question is what can be done to get me going again ?" After some back and forth conversation the doctor said something to the effect, "I could give you a cortisone shot, but I have patients backed up out in the waiting room. I know you live rather far away, but if you could come in after five I think I can do it today." Heather and I agreed and off we went, her pushing the walker and me going after the car.

We sat in the car, looked at our watches and decided there wasn't much we could do but have dinner, and we did, a nice leisurely meal with Tylenol for her along with it.

Any of this sound familiar to you ?

Back we went, checked in at the counter and found a place to sit. We waited, taking turns dozing, and waited, grousing a bit and dozing off and on. Finally we went in and the doctor gave her the shot, which was mixed with pain relieving medication. And Hop-long Heather and Doug headed out again. Tired to the gills, we got home and I helped her in and get settled in her chair with cushions where needed and then brought the car into the garage. Heather looked through the TV guide and found something to watch. Supplying water and tea as requested the evening has passed. Her knee is not giving her too much trouble right now and she will take a couple of Tylenol before I help her to bed.

Nine thirty now and I'm dead tired, and of course worried about Heather and her knee, hoping for the best and dreading the worst. The Dell will sit for a while as I take care of Other Things . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008