Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Feb. 03, 2005 - 19:14 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

TRY IT ?

For me time becomes an infinitely variable thing. Looking back in time it was day before yesterday that Heather began to have trouble with her knee and if it wasn't better by morning she would manage to get in to the doctor's at the clinic. I took her wheel chair shopping that day, managed to get her fed etc. She retired early, along with the help of two extra strenght Tylenols.

She had a miserable night, woke up determined to get into the clinic, and so she did and after a very long day she did get in had X-rays, and got her cortisone shot.

Today she hobbled around without the use of the walker and restrained herself on doing much walking of any kind. We made a short trip to Costco to pick up necessities, she insisted on pushing the grocery cart, me tagging along to lift stuff into it, but it was a short stay compared to what is our usual.

Tonight she is hurting but is considerably better. I don't think she should have got up on her feet today, but, I'm just her husband.

Along those lines it seems to me that men for the most part just do not understand what it is to run a household, how to shop for groceries or linens or much of anything for that matter. Exceptions are tools and male toys, the rest of it a man is a stranger in a stranger land. I know that a problem arises with me trying to shop with a list supplied by Heather. Very soon a dead end is reached and a call to home base must be made to find out what she wants instead of what is on the list that can't be found, from sorry experience I find that I can not come up with any sort of substitute or compromise that meets with any woman's approval, as borne out by conversations with her friends with me as a male audience.

Then there is the necessary work in day to day jobs IN the house, which is foreign territory to me and probably many other folks. Sure I can cook, can follow a cook book implicitly and can get a meal on the table. For instance get lunch on the table by supper time. I can do it but it takes ages for me to get it right.

Now my beloved does all this and manages to find plenty of time to spoil me during the day. This puzzles me extremely, how can she find the time to do that ?

I guess it's only when the wife is disabled or bedridden that a man is called to do what she does offhand every day. Complain ? Who me ? Not on your bippy. I remain her greatest admirer.

I waded a bit through the State Of The Union address, wherein our esteemed Bushmaster laid out what he thinks he wants to happen. And along with that he did not address many things he should have at least made the effort to say that he was correcting them.

Mr. President and Congress, I have a solution for Social Security - - - - but I know you don't want to hear it.

Put Congress, members of the administration who are not on it now in to the SOCIAL SECURITY PROGRAM ! ! ! Take away those immense "for life" till death takes them away those ungodly pensions, sometimes for serving a term or two. Why shouldn't they be tied to the Social Security plan also. And along with that, why not make raises in income for those people something the entire electorate of our country would vote on ?

I would make a guess that Social Security would be cured yesterday if not sooner. So, big guys, it might hurt a bit, but out of sheer patriotism, why not TRY IT ? . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008