Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Mar. 09, 2005 - 22:05 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

With The Fingers

There seems to be this strange, contagious ailment going around. Reported today by The Old Grey Poet. Grungy type thing, one might say, obviously not fatal but causing associated grouchiness and langour.

The Yucks, (capital "Y") not associated with the yucks (little "y") which brings on the trots and etc.

John started his cure by taking a short nap which extended a bit into the afternoon, woke feeling a bit more yucky but possibly better than before. His mate gave him a good feed and, voila, Yucks departed.

I thought I had the "blahs" today, something which food seems to aggravate, so I went light and only had half banana and half cup of mocha.

Off we went on our errands, glad Heather was driving because even though I'd had a good nights sleep I began to drowse over my crossword puzzle. Other than being a disarmed shotgun guy, my function was to keep Heather company and at that, functionality failed.

Finally Heather suggested a bite as it was acutally a bit after conventional lunch time. I was too doodle-buggy to do much but dismount and straggle in after her.

A steaming cup of mocha, a nice juicy, hot, oniony burger and a short salad she put in front of me, and with each bite my spirits began to rise. After I skipped out to the car in a sprightly sprint (pretty hard for an old man with a cane) and off we went to finish up. Returned home comforted by food and good company and the afternoon proceeded to wend its way toward evening.

For some time my deafness has been becoming deeper and it worries me a bit. I know that I can carry a pad of paper and a pen, but often folks don't want to take the time to write anything to a deaf guy. A slate and chalk -- about the same I think. Then tonight something Sunshyn wrote in her entry rang a bell. I went to our bookshelves and found a book we had bought to learn ASL in hopes of helping our daughter learn how to communicate using American Sign Language. She apparently couldn't concentrate enough to learn much of it. I think the only thing she did learn and still remembers is, "I love you."

Rather than leave it sit gathering dust on the shelves and profiting nobody, guess I will crack it and learn what I can against the time when my hearing loss gets so profound that I can't understand sounds anymore.

Might open up ways to go too, there must be groups learning ASL where one could practice what is being learned. Think I'll give it a try. Sort of a survival thing.

I have always admired people who stand up in front of an audience and sign what the speaker is saying. I think perhaps I would like to do that someday. Talking to the world With The Fingers . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008