Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Apr. 06, 2005 - 20:07 MST

THE WONDERING JEW

April In Denver

I guess we could have finished our errands early today and been home on our lazy duffs, but on our way across town -- like an express train Spring blew in. Bing, all of a sudden it went from a few buds poking out on bushes and very few Forsythia (in warm spots) and Johnquils as well to a full blast spring chorus.

On our way across town Heather and I noted the burgeoning of the season. As we were on the very familiar east side of town we slipped some sightseeing in among the drab errands.

Oh, 'tis much better than any Christmas Light tour I have ever seen. Cherry blossoms, apple too lining the avenues and parkways, Forsythias blasting yellow cheer for all to see.

There is as much reassurance and joy to me in this spring growth as there is in a great rainbow which as myth has it, therein is a promise. At least to me there is.

A quickening of my pulse, a roaring soar of my spirits and the laying back in the breath of Spring is once again mine, mine, mine. As it is for me, it is for many of us and maybe more for others than me. I would think the coming of spring would stir a farmer's soul (if there are any real farmers left) forseeing days, months and hours of productive labor in the fields and the oncoming harvest ahead.

'Tis said that, "in the Spring a young man's fancy turns to love." But this old man, "When 'tis Spring all nature turns fancy enough to make me almost cry." The feeling and understanding that it loves me is overpowering it seems.

It won't be long now before the Green Machine turns that green mist amongst tree limbs into full leaves, grasses get long, roses bloom and vegetables in the garden make promises for good eating soon. And that blessed breeze on my neck is moist and spring warm.

Along beloved and well known streets and avenues we wove our way, places known from our past as being the most beautiful this time of year. The necessary stops were alleviated by the sight of the world rendering its homage to pure life, what a grand experience it is every year when Spring comes to April In Denver . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008