Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-07-20 - 17:09 MDT

July 20, 2000

Slice o'

Why do I surf the net? To see what is going on, to get answers to questions that plague me, to travel through art museums I will never see, to read, read, read.

Why should I read Journals and Diary's? Oh, for so many reasons - - - to see other people's reaction to circumstance - - - to try to understand their reaction to things they enounter - - - to walk beside someone who although light years apart, we seem to be reading the same book of philosophy, reaching into our soul's deepest feelings and being in agreement. - - - to see people react to happiness, kindness, sorrow, disappointmnt, a desire to KNOW.

Why do I write a Diary ? Because it is there - - - for me - - - mine a secret known to the initiates, who number among the low millions who are as nosy as I am. Because there is an irresistable urge to say something even if I am the only reader, I am listening and pondering. Because I want to set down in print my life experiences for my descendants, tell about how the world was when I was a kid and my reaction to life in general. Because it helps me to discover another way of looking at things - - - and sometimes enabling me to change my mind - - that dirty old thing sure needs it. I have been living in it for almost eighty years and it has not been changed often enough to keep squeaky clean and looking good. Like diapers a mind should be changed when needed rather than of grimly plodding ahead in the same rutted path where Father and Grandfather were muddied. Not a rapid fire machine gun changing, but a slow, deliberate meditation on all the facts available and then making a change in the right direction. Because, for me at least if not for others, my diary is a means of discovering who I am and down the line maybe - - - why I am. Because I like to blither and blather along at great length and very few people will listen that long - - - and in the privacy of their homes can read at their speed and without offending or hurting anyone - - - laugh their ass off. Because now and then a person here and maybe one there will add to my thoughts or gently debate with me.

The exchange of thoughts and feelings can't happen if people remain silent, and I have things to say that I wish to be heard. The terms, tit for tat, quid pro quo - - all boil down to, "I will talk to a listener and listen to a talker. Through the cyber world this can happen without people interrupting each other. You can disappear - - - but not interrupt.

Reality is met in all of its many aspects on the Net.

Life, I need a Slice O' that beautiful thing.The weather out in Denver is great tonight, temperature mild with a light breeze - - - iced tea and patio, here I come.

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008