Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-07-21 - 23:12 MDT

July 21, 2000

Why The Ocean Is Salty

The 21 st of July, 2000 should be rerun - - - correctly this time. Bum night last night, of which there are many more than I would like, but that is normal.

What is not normal is to hear of someone going down who has fought a valiant battle - - overcoming reversal after reversal - - but still in a whole world of hurts and difficulties that may never be brought right.

My prayer list grows longer each day, not only for family who buried a loved on in Ohio Thursday - - - but others I have never met or seen but even so are family to me. Through common interests, points of view, shared experiences and much two way e-mailing.

You seem surprised that I mention a prayer list ? I will never go in for street corner witnessing or passing out tracts - - - but since beginning a diary and seeing what is going on - - - I am no longer an agnostic. I have exercised the prerogative of changing my mind. I do believe in a higher power - - - who I call God. A change made which amazes even me.

Beside the point I guess.

It is absolutely mind boggling to think of all the people who are suffering sorely - - - some mentally, some physically and some starving and some a combinaton of all three. Even more so the fact that we have many people like that in your town, my town and in pockets of misery throughout the country. Attempts are made to alleviate these conditions, sometimes misguided ones and ineffectual also.

One thing I continuously pray for is that each child born should have a loving mother and father who will lead, feed and watch over them until they are ready to assume the responsibilities of maturity. Parents who give loving attention to "Hey Mom and Dad, look at me," who are in PTA, who attend class functions, recitals, plays, who really care about the grades of their children and help scholastically when and where needed.

Too much to ask for ? I don't think so, I think that is what every human should have, pre-natal as well as post-natal care, the attention, love and nurture that the human soul cries out for and turns bitter when not received. At least that is the way it looks to me.

Of course there are exceptions, exceptions which jam the gears of civilization - - - those exceptions who fit no category and would refuse to be sorted into a classification. Some times just a few - - - but they are used to make those huge arguments to keep something good and righteous from happening. There is no 100 % anything, particularly so when dealing with humans. We have five offspring, grown this long time, however each has been a decided individual from go. They are admirable and loved but different units of people-kind

I guess that is why rules, regulations and laws are so hard to form, enact and administer. Then we have the "by the book" technocrats who blindly try to make us poor people fit into a little box (one size fits all) and expect a bloody miracle to occur. I can't solve the problems of the world, but I surely grieve over the hurt caused to innocent babies and hard working parents who are trying their best.

So, tonight I shall pray and add a few more drops of salty water to the ocean - - - - - - - -

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008