Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Apr. 21, 2005 - 21:32 MDT

THERE IT IS

Being sick is much like being on a long trip by aircraft. Toward the end my tochus is tired, as is my spirit. Not looking foreward to what is coming at the end of the flight.

As my body suffers the travel miseries the motion of flight changes, descent is noted and the change in air pressure in the cabin makes itself noticeable to my ears. A potty run is made and chewing gum is worked on to enable air pressure to stabilize in the ears.

Then, speed slackens and speed of descent is a bit more rapid. Noted is the deployment of flaps and the clunk of landing gear coming down into place, not reassuring but accepted. Next comes the jerk of the wheels screaming in protest as they try to match themselves to their rapid contact with the ground.

Yep, to me being sick is much like coming in from a long flight.

Today Heather and I went out to the mart that is nameless in my heart to get some topsoil for our front flowerbed. I trundled the buggy over to the piles, loaded three of them in the buggy and led the way to the checkout stand. Heather paid the tab and to the parking lot we went. Got the buggy to the car and after a short sit down in the car I loaded the dirt in the back end. On the way home we stopped at a place she has been wanting to try for a bite to eat.

Grateful for the respite and bite I comfied in to the booth and enjoyed mild contentment.

Unable to delay departure much more, out we went and headed home. On the way I managed to convey to Heather that I wasn't feeling all that well and that I would be quite happy to leave the dirt in the back 'til tomorrow. One look across the car and she allowed that it might be good to do just that. I had a cuppa and stripped down hit the sack for a few hours sleep. Remarkable how much sleep plays a part in restoration of one's health.

As for the dirt ? Tomorrow will do, for tonight -- out in the car -- THERE IT IS . . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008