Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Apr. 24, 2005 - 14:33 MDT

YOU WERE

Sunday it is, and well might it be. Heather and I both up a bit early. Had coffee and breakfast and made a few plans for the day. We lazed around and read the newspaper of which the best part for me is the Parade, USA Today and the beloved comics. We got completely dressed in order to mill around outside a bit. I moved a half barrel (empty) over to where it will be for the summer and filled it about three quarters full of topsoil in readiness for whatever Heather buys to put in it. We did a few odds and ends outside and then came back in.

Beginning to feel like an orphan, I think notifylist.com is down again. I am on my own notify list and have been getting nothing for the last few days and notice that I am getting no notifies of other Diaryland folks entries. I know how I am, if a notify comes to me with a clickable url it is clicked and the journal read right then. Then read other e-mail, answering some. After all that going to one url or another to see if an entry has been made there. Some how I run out of day before I check all the journals. It won't stop me from making entries into my diary, 'cause - you know - it's my diary and if anyone cares to look over my shoulder and read a page or two they are welcome to and I am happy if they are interested enough to do so. But without notifies it does feel a bit empty around here.

One thing about wandering the world via the web and communicating with others I realize we are on common ground. Also realizing that no matter how bad things seem for me there are some of my friends much worse off than I and coping as well as they can as cheerfully as they can.

Things sort of caught up on me this time. Heather began to ail near the time surgery for her shoulder was due. She did all the right things, yet it took a trip to the doctor and a prescription for anti-biotics to help her begin to recover. I had been scuffling with the snuffles, wheezes and coughs but doing my Tussin, Saline Mist and Ventolin thought I had it under control. Yeah riiiight . . . . . Doctor heard my snorting in the background while she was with Heather and prescribed an anti-biotic for me too.

Funny thing, I began to notice I didn't feel so good either but had been so worried about Heather's condition the mine was disregarded.

Seems like the next morning we were supposed to go out to lunch with my cousins and in the process of getting ready I got the shakes along with chills and sicker than a cat. Had a fever, stripped down, went to bed and took the medicine that does a lot of good for me. Sleep in drastically long doses. As well as taking my anti-biotic when I was supposed to take it.

Several days passed, Heather struggling to get well and fighting fatigue as best she could. Each day a tad better than the last but she was not recovering as fast as she thought she should. With me its been about the same, been tagging along improving by micro when I wanted macro but improving nevertheless.

Then came today when we felt human once again (in a good sense)looked about us through the murk of a cloudy day and the world once again looked good. Checked ourselves over and decided we felt good. Strange new feeling, it was. I guess it is after a seige that it dawns on one that you were truly as sick as YOU WERE . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008