Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-07-22 - 15:47 MDT

THE WONDERING JEW

Firsts

I can remember the first grasshopper I saw and the first butterfly. I don't remember the first ant nor the first housefly - - seemed to me as if they had been created just before I became sentient. The first time I felt warm grass between my bare toes and later on the squishy, cool mud between my toes caressing my eager feet. In a widening world seeing my first street car, my first auto, my first train. Sight and feel of my first aircraft - - - a Ford Trimotor which in retrospect looked somewhat like a flying barn door. I got to feel it and later watch it fly.

My first knowing sight of the stores downtown. Importantly first things became related to persons and groups. My first day at school, making my first friends, and enemies. finding out what a teacher is. Along about that time came my first knowledge that I was not invincible, that I had not the might to make others do my bidding by intimidation or fisticuffs.

Romance came early in my mind, I knew not why a certain girl was beautiful and why she should become the object of my blind adoration, but one by one it happened. Some of these girls were worshipped from afar - - - and some gave me the message that I didn't know boo about civilized association. This only child learned much, much later about existence among others, the things that children from a family with brothers and sisters learned from their Mother's knee.

First rides in autos, street cars, buses and later, trains. This kid had his first ride in an aeroplane at the approximate age of 42 ---- what a thrill that was.

My first huggable, kissable girl friend. My first loss of a Puppy Love partner. First time I was enamoured over a teacher. First time going steady.

If you want to know about sex - consult the books. There were first times for each activity and were highly enjoyed and still are when they happen.

The first job, and my first understanding of what is needed to hold one.

The firsts are veritably infinite - - I encounter a first every day, none of which make the newspapers, but do interest me deeply. I don't think life is really measured by a clock or calendar, but by the, "first times." Mile posts along our way. We endure the bad and tragic firsts, hate them, bite the bullet and get past them. Realizing down the line how much the bad times made the good times even more treasured.

My marriage, our first child - - - the first one of our kids to get married, the first grand child.

As a General Class Amateur Radio license holder, who built what he couldn't buy and whose interest was and is communicating with people of the world - - - my first contact on the air was a freeing a captive spirit. My past as a brass pounder (one who communicated by Morse Code) prepared me for one more first.

Webtv - - the poor man's access to the world wide web was given to me for my birthday as something that "Pop" might enjoy a little. But my entry into this web world put me in my true element, I feel. Exploration, the discovery of Journals and Forums, my first posting in a forum. A first born idea that I wanted to do a diary - - - and at first 'twas a secret one. My first informing just a few journalists of my new diary. Then finding that I had something to say - - - even if only to myself - - - to my utter surprise I gained a person or two who liked to look over my shoulder and read my humble efforts. Had my first public boo-boo to straighten out. My first word of praise received for an entry that I thought was passable.

The, "firsts, keep coming. I wonder what is next ? Perhaps more Firsts . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008