Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

May. 03, 2005 - 22:37 MDT

'TIS WEDNESDAY

Almost like working a job again, hours and hours of activity today, tired upon tired -- so this is a good time to do a Wednesday Whatevers

1. - Do you use decimals or fractions more often ?

A. - Although fractions such as one-half, five eights and so forth are still understandable to me it has been years since I had a need to use fractions. Mostly using a steel tape when I was making something - - inches read in fractions on the tape. Decimals however are ubiquitous, our coinage is decimal as is most anything else I encounter nowadays. Oh yes, I still remember that a mile is 5,280 feet -- or is that something else ? Decimals it is.

2. - Why is fashion mostly directed at women ?

A. - I would dearly like to say that it is because men were smart enough to shuffle all that fancy stuff off on the women. There was a period in my life, in later years, that I had hair to my shoulders with a full beard, mutton chops and a handlebar mustache. Made me thank my lucky stars that I didn't have to use mascara, lipstick, eyeliner and fingernail polish, not to mention the delicate fancy articles of clothing that women wear. I went establishment again (as much as I ever could bring myself to) in preparation for my Mother-In-Law's funeral. By that time I was no longer working at the place of Hairy Men and was getting ready to be shorn anyhow. I was tired of the trouble it took to get things in order before going to work everyday. I don't know why it is the way it is, but it is that way and I hope it doesn't change while I am alive. Grateful I am.

3. - What is the best way to be famous ?

A. - A period of cogitation on this question. It seems to me that a person seldom sets out to become famous. Oh, in a shallow way perhaps, for a person seeking stardom in the theater but otherwise I think fame comes to people who DO BIG THINGS rather than us workaday types. My aim in life has always been to have a job in work I love to do, raise a family and be happily comfortable and at ease. Fame is not my bag really, and I am the last person to ask by the person who wants to know how to be so.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I like the Wednesday Whatevers. The questions, most of the time are food for thought for me.

And before it is no longer "that" day, I will slope off to the sack for another night, again 'TIS WEDNESDAY . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008