Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

May. 05, 2005 - 18:42 MDT

IS ANCIENT

Now and then the thought comes to mind, how did I get here, what course was taken by me that let me arrive at this spot in time.

Here and there are a few milestones that are somewhat obvious to me at this late date.

In spring 1963 before our last child was born I was forty-two years old and working with engineers, the feeling of being considered a second class type of man because I had dropped out of high school began to grate on my sensibilities. It may have just been my feeling of being behind the rest of the world in things, but I sensed, "He is a dumbo, couldn't even stay in high school."

I had heard about the GED and began to check into it. Finding out a bit about what would be tested, I bought a couple of books and began to spend evenings boning up on things lacking in my knowledge.

Finally seeing that ground already had been covered for the second time it became apparent to me that no more studying would fit me any better to take the GED than I was at that time.

So my course was to Emily Griffith Opportunity School in Denver. That is a school that enabled many people to go through school even though working a job, Emily was a champion for education, the school still stands by the way.

Like a truant headed for the principal's office my course was to the office to get my test papers. Clutching them in my hand I went to a table, sat down, crossed my fingers and began. Part way through the thought occurred to me, "I must really be messing up, there must be something I am missing." But what to do but keep on keeping on ? Slowly I worked my way through the papers. Went back a time or two checking for omissions and errors, finally bit the bullet and turned them in. I was told it would be several days before my results would be in.

I had hopes of passing but was doubtful. Several nights of self torture on the subject and finally the results were available to me. I had done well in all aspects, quite well. Not genius material, but so much better than expected by me.

So, I passed the GED and went on working as before, did not become the CEO of a corporation or chairman of the board of anything, but lived life thereon with much more confidence than I possessed before.

The fact that a GED was mine was probably one of the reasons I was chosen to handle the company's business in Southeast Asia during the Viet Nam war.

Water continued to flow under the bridge and out to sea, we were laid off at the company and I found other work to do.

Because I was having back trouble I went to the state to see about retraining for a job I could handle, saw a bunch of doctors and was told by my counselor that I qualified for training -- but the state was out of money to train any new people. I found another job and hung on until one day we were laid off at the new place, the company was drawing back to mid-continent and not taking any of the Denver folk with them. The day after I was laid off I got a phone call from my state counselor who asked me if I still wanted to go to school and wanted to take what I specified. I was told that there was money there for me to go. So for a year I went to tech school. With the confidence that I had gained in 1963, I managed by studying extra long to make it through the year successfully. A couple of hours of study for the young folk turned into midnight oil for me, but I burned it gladly.

Not too long after I graduated a job opportunity opened up for me and in 1977 a 13 year course of work was ahead of me.

Much of which is owed to the guts to go for a GED in 1963. I retired at age 69 from that company.

But, you know, all this history Is Ancient . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008