Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

May. 08, 2005 - 20:53 MDT

ALL GOOD

I guess when one looks at life from an age such as ours (Heather and I)special holidays and family get togethers are more valuable and happy than ever before. At least it seems that way for us.

I looked toward Mother's Day this year with dread, the first Mother's Day after our son Rob's death.

Heather was silently mourning I could see. Saturday came and on our errands we stopped by home to check the mail, there was none there and Heather was disappointed. We continued on our rounds and when we finally came home, just on the off chance I checked the box again and voila, there was a card for Heather from our Eugene daughter with a present enclosed. I remember what Heather said as she opened it, "She didn't forget me after all," said as she smiled.

After she went to bed last night I snuck her special card along with a little something else on her chair to be found when she arose. (Thanks Stefani) she loves it.

I got up when Heather did, we coffeed and had a bite, finished some pre-company final pickup and Heather departed for church. I did some e-mail and continued doing the stuff I was supposed to do while she was gone. While she was at church one of our daughters called and confirmed she would be over this afternoon and a granddaughter called.

Heather fixed us a bite as we ate I stepped into the kitchen and put a pot of coffee on for company when they came. Our oldest son came by about the time we cleaned the table, bearing presents, a card and himself. He is in the middle of putting a wood laminate floor at his son's condo preparing for his son's move back into it and didn't expect to stay long before he went over there. While he was visiting the phone rang and it was a long lost granddaughter on the phone from Cour d'Alene, Idaho calling to wish Heather a super Mother's day. As Heather was talking to granddaughter her mother drove up and I excitedly ran out to tell her who was on the phone and she told me that she had just got off the phone with her. Our son's visit with Heather was still in process when our daughter and her hubby came over with gifts for Heather, a beautiful card and a bunch of pictures from the trip to Hawaii from which she and her hubby recently returned.

As we visited the phone rang and it was our Eugene, Oregon daughter to wish Momma a Happy Mother's Day, they talked for a time, Heather got to talk to the grandson and granddaughter there too. Then son had a turn talking to his sister.

And so the afternoon went on. Son stayed longer than he planned visiting with us and his sister and her hubby. Another grand daughter called with best wishes. The kids stayed much longer than I thought they would, but finally with much hugs and good words went on their way.

Heather and I went to a place to eat that we wanted to try, had a leisurely meal interspersed with happy talk and finally came home. She to her beloved TV and me to the keyboard to commune with friends on the web. Heather in a much more contented mood, and I ? Happy that she is happy. Today for me at least was ALL GOOD . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008