Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-01-30 - 00:14:38

SECOND VERSE

We ever learn. Some years ago I went diagonally across our metro area, quite a distance.

Destination, an address I found to be in the center of stakes and strings, partly built houses and blowing vertical real estate. Waaaay out there.

Naturally this alien was turned around lost, there were no street signs yet and lots of prairie.

I fretted and stewed, got in a frightfully bad mood. I finally got pointed in the right direction by another alien - - - - never ask a neighborhooder how, where or whatever. They have mastered the memorization of the the route to work and return. Some of the men can find a neighboring liquor store - - - - with a map. Local women know the way to and back from the 7-11. (doug ! you're wandering again)

Right, so, I finally arrived at the long pursued address and after exchanging polite pleasantries with the woman of the house, I was handed a small siamese kitten. Pitiful, scrawny little thing, more noise than bone or hide. But with a set of big (blue I think) beautiful eyes.

With a little soft talking and gentle petting I carefully took kitty to the car and safely stowed her onto the passenger seat. Petted it a bit more and drove down the street.

All went well for a bit, until kitty loudly announced the car ride was totally unappreciated.

To make a short story longer, with trepidation I set the course for home. The biggest part of the way wearing a feline skullcap attached with four paws of claws, sharp and painful.

As I drove I slowly promised myself that I would never, ever transport a loose cat in a car- - - - - - - ever, ever !! The damn thing was more rebellious than a teenager.

What made the trip a rousing success and perfect was the warm fuzzy given me by my litte daughter as she whispered in my ear, "thanks daddy," and gave me a big hug and squeeze. God, aren't children the most wonderful gift ???

Kitty condescended to notice the rest of the family and put up with us, but she was our little ladies shadow.

Even when men are grown (?) up (?) they still have to learn painfully.

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008