Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

May. 14, 2005 - 18:28 MDT

THEY ARE

A very short item in the Rocky Mountain News of May 14, 2005, by the Associated Press -- In full:

Now I sleep, says tipster in girl's killing

MUSKOGEE, OKLA. -- "The tipster who helped authorities learn the identity of a beheaded 3-year old girl known for years as Precious Doe said he's glad he tipped off police and relieved arrests have been made -- including that of his own grandson."

"I'm proud of it. I got it off my heart. Now I sleep at night," said 81 year old Thurmon McIntosh -- whose granson and grandson's wife face charges in the slaying. Harrel Johnson, 25, and wife Michelle Johnson, 30, face charges of second-degree murder and endangering the welfare of a child in the Kansas City, Mo., slaying of Erica Michelle Marie Green, Michelle Johnson's daughter."

"A judge entered not-guilty pleas for the pair Tuesday."

"Erica's body was found in a park in 2001; her head was discovered in a trash bag nearby. She was known as Precious Doe before she was identified last week."

"McIntosh provided hair samples from Michelle Johnson that led to the arrests."

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

As I cry, the question comes to me, "How many more gentle, innocent children will be victims of the cruelty such as that to Precious Doe ? How many more books such as, "A Child Called It," will be written and published delineating pure, evil feelings and treatments of defenseless kids ?

I'm not talking about the kids who exist in poor homes, hungry, ill clad with little in the way of medical care, but who live in the love of their parents. No, but about the kids who suffer the vicious violence of the people who are supposed to love and care for them the best they know how.

I have a cyber-sister who writes a journal "The Chattering," who was a child advocate for years in Texas, I think she has on the tip of her tongue many names of those once live children. I'll be happy to give her url to anyone interested. I think she still has a page on some of those children.

I guess through our history, going way back, such things have been recorded, some in legal proceedings and some just lost in ancient history. The ultimate in evil abuse, that of the grown adult against a small, weak, trusting child.

It will be interesting to see how the trial of the pair comes out and if the sentence fits the crime. So vibrantly alive and so soon dead and how soon forgotten They Are . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008