Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-07-24 - 19:34 MDT

July 24, 2000

Acronym Solutions

Easy as pie now, just attach an acronym to a situation and it is solved. Yeah - - - - right. Hard to tell anymore which acronym is the one to use. Sometimes it boils down to which profession or sport you are knowledgeable. Some acronyms are spelled the same but have a huge difference in meaning.

The whole world seems to think that if it has hung an acronym on something that the problem, stated in shorthand by acronym, is automatically solved. In mental and psychological areas the acronyms and so called definitions are so far from reality that it amazes me. It seems that just about every week there is a new definition for some syndrome, disease, disorder affllicting us.

Some of this I think comes from our trying to understand what is going on and feeling that if some big dog named it that, whether understood or not, that is what it is, next ?

Each one of us I think is wandering in a night haunted graveyard with a cold wind blowing about our shanks looking for a way out to peaceful existence.

My particular solutions to my problems probably won't do anyone else any good.

Question: How many psychiatrists does it take to change a light bulb ? Answer: Only one, if the light bulb really, really wants to be changed. A joke laden with a true moral - - one must truly desire and be willing to be part of the solution before any change is possible. Sometimes chemicals can help, sometimes counseling can help, sometimes confrontation can help. Sometimes one combination of the aforementioned or another will help. And to face the unpleasant fact, for some of us there is no help, only a clenching of the teeth and plodding through life the best one can.

Stigmas are a blight and a burden, making things all the worse.

I think my line of reasoning applies to most situations in life, superfluity of names and the misapplication of terms seems to me to be a hindrance to progress.

One great medicine that has been with us before we had language is laughter and it sure helps to laugh at yourself and others. I say, don't name it - - - fix it.

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008