Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jun. 03, 2005 - 19:02 MDT

MY WAY

Makes me wonder when I see items buried in mid-section of the newspaper. In the Rocky Mountain News this morning there is an item datelined UNITED NATIONS. A short one, that I think should have been covered more deeply. In full:

AIDS outpacing efforts to control it, U.N. reports

"Although a small but growing number of countries are beginning to contain the spread of the AIDS virus, the epidemic is expanding in all areas of the world, outpacing the response, the U.N. secretary-general Kofi Annan, said Thursday."

"It is clear that the epidemic continuies to outrun our efforts to contain it," Annan said at a special session of the General Assembly to address the disease."

"Dr. Peter Piot, who directs the U.N. AIDS program, said the epidemic has yet to display a natural saturation point. In Swaziland, with the highest rate of AIDS, adult prevalence continues to climb ; 42.6 percent of pregnant women there tested positive for HIV in 2004."

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Looks to me that the world is perhaps in a mess of it's own manufacture. Whether it is from disinterest, unawareness of the seriousness of the situation or just pure sectarian bigotry, who can apportion the blame and what difference would it make ? Blame doesn't cure anything.

One thing that the world is slowly becoming aware of is the mutation of disease organisms can make an ailment become totally drug resistant overnight.

Seems to me that the longer AIDS continues to multiply the sooner it will mutate into a killer of epic proportions.

From what I have read here and there in the news, our own government has opposed the distribution of condoms and education on birth control. Are we in danger of promoting genocide by letting infected people breed in an uncontrolled manner ?

Thousands of babies are being born who are already carrying AIDS and will have a very short life, of misery. If what I read is true, and I have no doubt of it.

Regardless of my own personal beliefs, ethics and religion it seems to me that AIDS must be fought strenuously here in our country and even more so overseas. Whatever it takes should be done. But it must be done with intelligence not hampered by politics or bigotry.

In our country I guess the closest we have come to an out and out epidemic was the Influenza of 1918 that killed thousands of our folks. Compared to that the AIDS epidemic is gigantic beyond belief.

Our administration appears to be instrumental in erecting a road block in the progress of AIDS control, guess we will have to let George do it MY WAY . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008