Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jun. 09, 2005 - 12:13 MDT

TRUTH IN COMICS

Wednesday night after somehow dumping an entry twice and noting that it was past midnight anyhow, I gave it up and put myself in the rack.

This morning muggling over coffee and reading the paper, what of it I could stand, I did the therapeutic thing and went to the comics.

There is a section there called "Wacky Questions" that often brings something up that is interesting to me. A person wants to know about a song and the only words remembered are, "Life gets tee-jus, don't it ?"

I remember that one, can't remember who sang or said it but in my youth it mirrored my train of so called thought and it sure struck a chord this morning when I read it.

Wacky Questions answer as follows: "That's exactly the way the song title was written bad grammar and all, though sometimes the word is spelled tedious. Written and orginally recorded by early country star Carson Robison in 1948, "Life Gets Teejus, Don't It ?" was covered by Tex Williams and Walter Brennan, in each case more recitd than sung. Here's the first verse:,/P>

"The sun comes up and the sun goes down

And the hands on the clock go round and round

I just wake up and it's time to lay down,

Life gets teejus, don't it ?"

My train of thought precisely as I sighed and lied down, last night.

To relieve things a bit is Ashleigh Brilliant's panel this morning, which tells me one thing to do. "No use crying over spilt milk - - But you can still call the cat."

Yep, here kitty, kitty, kitty, have some cyber milk.

And then there is a strip that is me, me, me. The Fusco Brothers. One of the brothers says, "I just can't seem to find myself." The ? what ? wolverine in the strip says, ? "Just go straight down the road to failure, make a left at desolation highway, then hang a right onto the madness turnpike, get off at the stupidity exit, and there you are"

Apropos for this po, po little boy.

Often I can see that there is TRUTH IN COMICS . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008