Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jun. 12, 2005 - 19:33 MDT

R & R

I guess the country can continue to mess itself up without me sticking an oar in tonight. I did see in the paper that one of our courts did something sane. A short quote from an article by Miles Moffeit a Denver Post Staff Writer in todays The Sunday Post. Quote:

"A federal appeals court has blocked the Air Force's attempt to get its hands on a cadet's rape treatment records, staving off indefinitely a therapists jail sentence."

The action late Friday indicates the growing importance of the unprecedented case that legal experts predict could wind its way all the way to the U.S. Supreme Court." Wonder what the next article in the paper will have ? ? ?

Now for a bit of fun and relaxation, I think it is needed at this point in time for this impatient patient.

So it is SUNDAY BRUNCH at seven-forty-five in the evening.

1. - What is your favorite board gamed ?

A. - Scrabble of course is my favorite. Are crossword puzzles considered board games ? If so that's in next place.

2. - What type of games are your favorite ? (i.e., board, card, participatory, dice, word games)

A. - Of the game world about the only games I do not like are the games based solely on chance. A rousing round of 500 Rummy with friends is a good way to visit and pass the time. You are at the mercy of fate about the hand you are dealt, but still can use your brain to play wisely.

3. - How many games do you own, and if possible list them.

A. - I will list first and then count them. Scrabble, playing cards (Pinochle and regular), checkers, chess, Chinese checkers. Total comes to five - - - - then I have a book of games and a Book Of Hoyle.

4. - Do you enjoy computer or video games ? Which one is your favorite ?

A. - I enjoy playing Klondike Solitaire now and then, but after five years of using Webtv and graduating to a Dell computer most of my spare time is spent trying to learn my way around. Anybody know a good computer interpreter ? ?

5. - Describe a great childhood memory of an outside game.

A. - When I was a child in Denver, most neighborhoods had vacant lots, some of which were used by us kids to play ball. We had to be very careful to avoid whanging out neighbor's windows and things like that. Those games were the most fun . . . . . . I guess one of the reasons was that no adult was ever present except to drag a son home who was late reporting in. The heated discussions of "fair" and "foul" and other esoteric rules of ball were all part of the fun. A recent incident in Congress reminds me of some of our events. A chairman of a committee got mad, banged his gavel, the microphones were shut off and the members of his party who were there all walked out. Remember the times when someone got mad and took the ball home ? Baseball, softball, soccer or whatever - - - we managed to field a substitute if a real article was not available. We had fun while the hothead sulked at home.

I guess that is why childhood stays with me, getting acquainted with the world at large, trying to emulate our grown folks, yet having all the fun that a kid could have, learning from my mistakes (sometimes the hard way some times the easy) was part of the grand experience.

One thing I do remember of my childhood was the strong sense of "fair play" and honor that existed among us. Seems as if many folks have forgotten the difference between fair and foul, kindness and cruelty.

This little exercise in itself is perhaps a little board (or screen) game.

It has been a short entry, but that is the way it is with most R & R . . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008