Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jun. 19, 2005 - 17:16 MDT

FOR THIS FATHER

Sunshine as usual for this time of year lit my bedroom window with slats of shimmering gold this morning, filling my heart with cheer. Hopefully presaging the good that was to come this day.

I talked with Heather on the phone early on and she was as bright as a sparrow hopping on a clothesline, sounded so chipper it was amazing.

I took what was left of the of the huge crockpot of vegetable stoup, (soup, stew, whatever)that Heather and I made the other day and went over to daughter's before noon. I settled in beside dear wife and watched the History Channel with her.

Much visiting went on through the morning between us "groan ups."

Then daughter put lunch on the table and her hubby, she, Heather and I had soup and some of the best bakery bread I have eaten in a long while. Grand kids and great grand kids had filtered through in a quiet and well behaved manner (surprise) and paid me their Father's Day respects, teased everyone else and went their way. Lunch was cleared away and the visiting went on.

Later on the other great-grandpa of the family showed up to visit a bit and exchange old folks gripes and complaints with me along with visiting in between. Then coffee and cake was served along with cards. Presents were low key, mostly just cards, which is great and quite adequate as far as I am concerned.

We visited a long time more and then daughter said she thought it was time to bring Heather home as she could tell her Mom was getting tired. A time to get her home and settled for the evening.

I took off for home to get things opened up and ready for her grand entrance. Daughter and her hubby brought Heather home, along with her clothes, medications and etcetera. We saw Heather safely through the door and into her chair, visited yet some more and then daughter taught me the care of Heather, her clothes, her sling and the putting on and taking off procedures. Man that is one fancy sling, a bit more complicated than normal.

Our landlord has spike sprinklers set on the front and side yard and I water the back, today being our watering day after six PM I set the sprinkler in back and will move it in a while. The grass here has greened nicely now and it is pleasant in the front of the house in the morning at our metal table and chairs and then in the afternoon quite nice in our swing out back. Think we will have some pleasant times here this summer.

Heather made the transition from daughter�s to home with utmost serenity and is comfortable. Being free of the pain meds that put her in nauseated orbit has been a giant step forward. Doctors just don�t seem to understand how pain meds and anesthesia so adversely affect Heather and our oldest son. But they do have such adverse effects.

So now, Heather has about a month in a sling and will be told later by the doctor if she will need physical therapy later. That month in a sling for a free spirit like her is going to be very frustrating for her and will wear out my chauffeuring abilities. But then she will be functional once again, and of course happier. She is of course, very thankful for the help given her by our daughter and for the kind thoughts, prayers and good vibes sent along the way by many good folks.

It couldn�t have been a better day for THIS FATHER . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008