Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-07-28 - 21:28 MDT

July 28, 2000

Shuffle

I sit here tonight chuckling a bit over our day. A work day, where in we pulled various bits and pieces out, dusted them, decided where to put them and did so. Simple ? Yeah right. So tired it requires effort and exercise to yawn. Doesn't look a whole lot different but it is.

Two days from now, the trail being cold, neither one of us will be able to remember what is where and why it was put there anyway

Progress, we took a grocery sack of goodies to the Goodwill, a few of our out of style clothes which never will fit us again.

But the mountain of stuff we shuffled and dealt you woulldn't believe.

The three foot pile of vinyl records (LP's of course) that we no longer have an amp with a section for playing a turntable. Heather decided we want them - - - a discussion ensued. Bastion, "Well baby if you want them, please firgure out where you are going to put them - - - because today they are out of my space." Deep thought, "We can put them in that corner in the hall closet." Bastion has the termerity to say, "Okay then, we can do that. What about the tuner amplifier you said you were going to get so the oldies can be played ?" "Bastion, dern you, I'm working on it." So, stacked on a piece of 3/4 inch plywood they are in the hall closet, don't know where she is going to put the stuff that was in that spot. I probably will nightmare a bit, dreaming that whole world of household goods, (none of them mine) is pouring around my bed, headed for the ceiling.

Both of us waking in the morning and over the steaming java finally admitting to each other that basically all we accomplished was dusting everything and putting it in a different place than it was.

Could be worse I guess, like some relative driving up with dump truck load of assorted "good stuff" and letting it slide off onto our patio.

In my own immature way I have been following a policy of deciding what I am going to get rid of before I buy something and bring it home. All except the gold of the written word enclosed in bindings of protective love. Bastion will be found dead some day, victim of an avalanche of books. Heather has her trove of yarn, cloth, gift wrapping paper, etc.

Just last week I had to install a Tarzan type artificial liana to use to swing into the apartment from the hall ways to avoid breaking any limbs. There is a glow from a night light in a hall and in the bathroom to keep us safe on our nightly trips to the loo. Great grief, I would hate to jump out of bed in the dark carrying bursting kidneys and falling afoul of various strange things in the abyss of sleepiness. Just the thought of cleaning up the mess while sporting a broken leg makes me be sure to pay the electric utility bill on time.

Once Heather wondered how much stuff a robber would get if he broke in while we were gone, and I told her that if it happened at night, he deserved whatever happened to him and we would probably find his mummified body amongst the normal litter of the house.

There must be pack rat genes running up and down our family trees, both of us, all arms of the families. Some amazing things show up during these episodes. Not this time but another time before, a stack of all my report cards showed up along with Heather's childhood paper dolls (with clothes galore) and valentines. You know, for the life of me I don't know where those cards are now. I am sure that they have been dusted, neatened and put in a common sense place (is was common sense at that time). In a family of Mom, Dad and five kids and their assorted friends - - - whenever something was needed, the most motivated one would get down on hands and knees and winnow the pile until the wanted item floated to the top. Such thing eagerly grabbed and moved to another place, and life went on as normal before the last little winnowed piece fell to the floor. So, we can say everything has been dusted and shuffled.

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008