Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jul. 09, 2005 - 20:15 MDT

SILENCE

Terror has been a weapon through the ages. For the most part it has caused people to flee their home areas seeking shelter from harm and undergo privations unknown to most of us.

Seems that in all different societies, ding-bat radical extemists have tried to force the world to look through their eyes and think their thoughts.

Our country has seen it, from the Ku Klux Klan and various organizations to vigilantes (self named) who were grinding one or another particular axe.

We still have with us in our country extremist radicals, though they have not gone to human bomb activity as yet. Yet there have been doctors and nurses killed by anti-abortionists.

But if these groups, together or apart begin to feel they have been abused with no recourse -- what then will they do ?

I can see out and out fighting an enemy in face to face combat in pursuit of a cause, but causing the death and dismemberment of innocent people is to my mind one of the most evil acts known to man.

Those rabid amoral people are to my mind raping the world in the most destructive way imaginable.

I am not so much worried about the fate of Heather and I, chances are we will survive terrorist attack and don't have too many more miles on our odometer, but it is our grandchildren and great grandchildren and those who come after them that I worry about. I guess an old man would like to feel that he has done his part to make this world a better one for the relatives who come after him. And I think that most of us have tried, men and women both, to do just that. But how face the unknown evil of terrorism perpetrated by insanity, egged on by radical extremist sources ? People who wreak destruction randomly on innocents ?

I went through the motions today, did the necessaries, helped Heather as much as I could and did all the normal activities I am used to. But tonight, somehow, I am empty, with little to say other than what I just did. It is not a better world to look at anymore or to possibly anticipate it being better any time soon.

So, from this keyboard tonight there is just sad SILENCE . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008