Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Jul. 13, 2005 - 21:34 MDT

METASTASIZED

Of all of the dread ailments of mankind I think cancer is the worst. Even a little cancer if not hit with the right treatment at the proper time grows and often grows rapidly.

Such a treacherous beast it is it can seed itself in other parts of the body and sometimes in spite of treatment, radiation and or chemo will practically take over the body and become just one big cancer.

My Grandmother died of metastatic cancer, as did one of my sisters-in-law, preceded by her mother. Heather's cancer in the same spot as her Mother's and sister's was caught in time that a lumpectomy apparently got it all. It has been about five years now without a reappearance. But cancer sugeries, radiation and or chemo do not come with a written guarantee of success.

It is with great sadness that I hear of the apparent terminal condition of a man who is son-in-law to a lady on the net, whose mother, a diabetic, had to have both legs amputated. Then I read that the lady herself was in kidney failure and went the dialysis route including the grafts on her blood vessels in one arm necessary for that. Having all kinds of problems with that procedure her doctor allowed her to try a method of cleaning her blood that I don't fully understand. It entails attaching to a port into her abdomen and letting fluid flow in. After a certain number of hours it is drained, having accomplished the cleaning. New to me, seems to be working for her.

She is no longer working, and takes care of her grandson part of the time.

Her son-in-law's cancer started in his brain and he went through the hell of radiation and chemo plus the latest treatments available. But, it has spread, drastically.

The dear lady did what I probably would do, went to her journal and told about it. I don't think she is seeking any financial support, although obviously she needs it.

Talking to a diary, now who would ever thought of that ? Me, of course, I do and often. There seems to be a cleansing and strengthening when I do that. Often when seeking my way or an understanding of life, I write about it.

To make things tough, I'm thinking about her daughter who is faced with the possibility of losing her grandmother, Mother and her husband in such a short span of time.

I probably shouldn't be writing about this, yet I have been tied with strings of loving-care with her for quite a long time. She is a brave one and soldiers on, keeping on keeping on. Doing the best by all that she can.

I shall send her the url of this entry and if she requests, I shall pull it.

Being upset though, I have sought the solace of writing about something I can do nothing to cure or help - - - and damn that hurts. Heather and I shall pray, with sincerity and awe, and pray that we all understand the answer if and when it comes.

Such an accursed word METASTASIZED . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008