Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

25 July, 2005 - 11:22 MDT

FRUSTRATION

About the time I think the problem of making my entries vanish is solved and begin to use the usual way of making an entry -- somehow my fingers find a way to utterly defeat me.

Tonight's entry was about the starving people in Niger, Africa, one third who are starving and one third of them children. IN round figures 3.6 million people face starvation - about one-third of them children. That is in a country of 11.7 million people -- or almost 30 percent of the population, one third or 1.3 million of those are children.

When the call for aid went out, about $1 a day would have alleviated the situation, now due to the exacerbation of the situation and the weakened condition of the people it will take about $80 per day.

It hangs heavily on my soul that many of our world's people exist in slavery, extreme starvation and shivery fright because of the things like the Janjaweed genocide. Sometimes I lack appetite to eat when I know there are little children living who have been hungry all their lives and have little to look forward to.

It matters not to me that folks are having children when the prospect of them living is so iffy. The urge to procreate is with us all, or most of us anyhow.

The onus I think lies on the shoulders of those who refuse to consider any means of birth control and not allow even condoms to be financed. What do they expect ?

Lest we forget, there are children in our own country who are almost as close to starvation as the children in Africa. What are we doing for them ?

I suffer a depressive condition of absolute FRUSTRATION . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008