Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Aug. 13, 2005 - 22:07 MDT

WHITHER THE WEATHER ?

Rule of thumb in the Denver area is that the only time it really rains any decent amount is when you rather wish it would not.

For a spell of time Heather and I have been planning on helping a great lady run her booth at Scottish Games here in our area, planning with out fingers crossed due to the unseasonable seasonal weather this year.

Of course this time the weather agreed with our weathermen or they with it. Their forecast was for a rainy Saturday and Sunday.

One hundred percent for Saturday, stuck my nose out the door this morning to retrieve the newspaper and fished it, in it's baggie from a very damp driveway, my glasses being soundly speckled with raindrops on the way out and back in.

Thus, in the process of getting ready to go to the games we threw assorted wraps in the car 'cause 'twere chilly, cloudy, raining and clammy, and wore most of them for the day.

In spite of that we spent a very pleasant day helping out and indulging in bantering and schmoozing with people.

I'm too tired tonight to write much and spent too much of the day helping out to condense my experience into the few words I can write tonight. Suffice it to say that it has been a wonderful experience rubbing elbows with people of Scotch ancestry. There is a certain special lilt to their walk, enthusiasm and cheer in their speech and seeing them at the height of their enjoyment is a maximum pleasure.

I had my first taste of Haggis, and found out that seemingly the suppliers have run out of sheep and put Haggis in cans, oh, but it do taste good. The booth we were in had Haggis in crock pots supplying customers with nice warm sample bites. I managed to do away with about a can of warm Haggis on my own. Perhaps it is my genetic make up or some such. Couldn't have been taught at my Mother's knee because she would shiver when someone mentioned it, said she would die before she would allow a bite past her teeth. I asked her, "If you've never tried it Mom, how do you know you hate it ?" Her answer didn't compute with me then, any more than it did when our kids approached the dinner table where somemthing new was on the menu. (New to them). "Eeeew, I don't like that," before they took a sniff or taste of the new thing. I was a bit different, I adventured my way into eating and would taste it and then decide on whether to hurl or grin.

Probably there will be a change in the weather next week and we will be back fighting the swelter factor again. I wonder WHITHER THE WEATHER ? . . . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008