Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Aug. 18, 2005 - 23:08 MDT

END OF DAY THOUGHTS

A mildly busy day here for me. Just what I needed, enough activity to get a bit of exercise, while my mind meandered among the green braes.

Still enmeshed in the romance of the Highland Festival of this last weekend here in town. Mixed among those ideas were memories of stories read long ago of places Scotch and Irish.

A cyber-sister of mine and her family visited another cyber-friend who lives in a quite rural area mid-country. Of course there has been communication on the board about the sortie to the south, I think everyone is excited that cyber-sister managed to get away for a few days with her beloved brood. She and her hubby have a girl of six, a girl of three and a baby who is beginning to walk. Each of them doing their age appropriate activities at the right time. I can just see Momma trying to handle a three way day with her kids, I remember how it was with Heather and I when ours were little.

It is very wooded around the house where they visited. I have been down in that vicinity and enjoyed the peace there.

It is remarkable how a chance remark by a little kid will make me stop and think deeply. The three year old girl, took to the lady her folks visited, had seen her before and liked her. I kind of gather that the lady and little girl took a walk in the woods to the child's enchantment. She told her Mom that she wanted to go back to "The Quiet Forest."

Immediately I went in memory to days of walking in the quiet forest here in our state. So quiet that one could feel a breeze on the cheek but hear nothing. The aroma of pine woods enticing me deeper yet into the pine Eden under the vast blue sky. The times I walked thinking what to me were very deep thoughts, which probably would not be given any attention even now by grown folks. Still some of those thoughts are deep. Some of the whys resulting from those walks have never been answered or explained to this day.

I would like to be near the little lady when she begins to cope with and understand space (science fiction space) I remember my struggle to conceive of space without end and yet realize that after the little box of our world there is more out there. A big giant swallow of reality, knowing that it hasn't yet been completely explored and probably never will be.

I would like to see how she develops socially and fits herself into her world.

Of course I would like to be around all three every day to watch them build their own lives, perhaps putting a word in here and there and drying a few tears, having a silly laugh-in with them. Much like it was with our kids, it was the adventure of my life to help raise our family. Wish I could sit in on the raising of this one.

So, through the day I did things, don't ask me what -- ask Heather, as I don't really remember. I kept her happy though. But along with that my mind was like an aged river, twisting, turning and making horshoe lakes now and then when it is easier to cut across and the land has shifted enough to make it easier to cut across than follow the twists and turns.

It has been a very pleasant restful day and I have come to my END OF DAY THOUGHTS . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008