Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-08-20 - 20:37 MDT

August 20, 2000

Overdose Of Happiness

Here I sit, early evening Sunday so full that my stomach is pressing my brain out through my ears and so tired falling asleep at the keyboard every other word will be the norm.

Saturday was the garage sale at my middle daughter's house, no garages sold however -- although there were a few doubles that were attractive. I assisted in unearthing forgotten treasures in closets, storage lockers and other un-named places, all of which we loaded up and took over to the site of the grand closeout sale of junque. Then, at her son's house was the big outdoor cookout with most of our family attending. After cleaning up from the loading and hauling, we loaded all the edibles that Heather and baby daughter had prepared to take over there. A wonderful time of visiting was had by all, age to age -- young to old -- mid ages to young and old both. Interesting things and inconsequential humorous drivel. I finally fell asleep about nine PM in an easy chair while the visiting roundabout was in full whirl. Baby daughter reveled in being with her sibs, trying to catch upon family love and lost times.

Sunday, today I jumped through my youknow trying to finish up the cleaning and stow-storing stuff out of sight while Heather prepared a Mexican meal that was a wonder, was is the operative word - no late night snacks left for the belly stuffers. Baby daughter, her husband and their two kids went to church with oldest son and his family. Various and sundry relatives showed up at different times - some had been working, etc., etc. Some left early to go to work, some of the late comers stayed to hang the last dog properly and bury the poor thing.

My profile was low and almost invisible -- placing me in a quiet spot with good visibility and watched baby daughter have a blast as well as watching oldest son's daughter with her new baby - this one not crawling yet. He is a happy, laughing, smiling child comfortable among strange relatives.l He'll make it pretty well I think.

Mine have matured well and it is heaven to have them engage me in adult conversation and for me to see them visit on good terms, no cat fights, no spats . . . . . just pure pleasure. Several of the other great-great grand babies were in attendance Saturday, but just the one today.

Here am I, full, happy, content and super tired -- oh, but it is a warm, comfortable, contented tired. Heather has mothered a wonderful brood, with me tagging along trying to dissect a hog and "bring home the bacon."

In other news, I helped my grandson find some information on Game Boy Pokemon playing hints on the web, thus becoming a sort of hero in his eyes. During other minutes of resting I explored old timey stuff. Bev, Jim Lawrence and Al Schroeder came up with some neat links and I was able to hear audio clips of old radio programs, read a whole bunch of "The Shadow" stuff and hear the various introductory announcers start the program. One thing I never knew was that Orson Wells was the first one.

My cup runneth over with happy content and sleepy rumination. Recovering from a super supply of joy.

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008