Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-09-05 - 22:47 MDT

September 5, 2000

Dumpster

All of the following is my personal OPINION

Maybe it is just me, but it seems that Sam I Am has doubled or tripled up on the delivery of SPAM.

The new one seems to be REDGHOST who sends to an addy list longer than my arm. Now some of the people on his list are hitting on others on his list.

I am beginning to wonder what happens to people with modems, hard drives, etc. who get this stuff -- is there a virus there ? Any one know Ann Van Nostrand (?) ([email protected])

I have the strange feeling that I will be discarding a lot of stuff with out reading it in the future.

They don't have a physical foot in my door -- which I always could cope with and send someone away with a sore foot. Worse yet they have a time wasting, infuriating electronic foot in the damn door -- that can be dumped -- but seems to keep sliding back into my mail box.

I wonder what kind of phoney promise is given to these companies who have been sold the e-mail advertising bit ? Seems to me that they are putting their money into as much a losing battle as the direct mail people. Profiting from that activity are the paper makers and printers and the waste disposal companies.

I would think that common sense would tip off the anxious retailers to the fact that many, many of us are highly antagonized by such SPAMativity.

My antagonism is akin to what I feel arising when coping with a telephone salesman who will not take no for an answer.

Ah, well, back to the old days, when the local grocers would give a kid a pile of handbills to be placed one in each screen door. I think that Mom bought me more shoes, costing a lot more than the little money I made maybe - but I was not discouraged by her. I guess the handbills from the neighborhood stores were looked at by the people who shopped there -- for the rest, those pieces of paper made good lighters for kindling.

So, consign this bit of fluff to the place that SPAM goes, in the dumpster.

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008