Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-09-16 - 23:59 MDT

September 16, 2000

Chaos

"Adventures In Living" Andrea's journal addresses a subject that periodically sets me off on a rant. Which hers did and I put in about two plus hours making and editing an entry only to have Diaryland do the magic act and make it disappear when I pressed the enter button. It is about 06:20 MDT September 17, but the entry I am going to try to make is for the date at the top of this entry. So, I guess from now on I will print out a copy of the edited raw entry -- text only -- to preserve what exactly I said -- had some good ideas there I think.

Her journal talks about every one trying to guide her every step, or trying to make her feel a fool about most everything she does. Hope the link I put in was done properly.

It seems to me from all the reading I have done that the attempted forcing of someone to do what "they" think has to be done, to think as "they" think, to believe religiously as "they" do has been with us since the beginning of written history and probably before.

Most of us I think desire to live our lives according to the way we personally feel, and I think that the concept of independant thinking is inbred with most of us.

The problem is, as I see it, the fact that a good portion of the population from the educated nincompoops to the field hand "rednecks" (like me) have somehow convinced themselves that they are the gurus of the world and know how every little detail of everyone else's life should be accomplished. That dad-blasted idea I feel is totally wrong and always has been. It might be excusable or forgiven those of us who still don't realize that our progeny, behind our backs when we weren't very alert, became adults and are doing a pretty good job of running their own lives themselves. I say might be excusable or forgiven, when a parent still tries to raise their adult children. I cuss myself out often when I get off the phone with our youngest daughter and realize I am still trying to raise her -- when she has become a lady far more knowledgeable and expert than I. Damn it, Bastion -- you dummy -- don't you realize the put down that is on an adult who knows what they are doing ?

My father, who we lived with and took complete care of, after about the first year began to fatherly advise me -- until one day I asked him, "Dad, you and Mom had one child -- me. We have had five, four who are adults on their own and one still here finishing growing up. We think we did a pretty good job." My Father the proud, shy, independant man that he was just nodded his head. I was so proud of him and glad to be his son. I knew what that nod signified and he never offered an opinion on what we should do about anything after that.

Doggone it if one old man can do it, why can't the rest of the world's people realize that they should till their own gardens instead of staring over the fence and tellng their neighbor how to do his.

I am not really an expert on history, but didn't the Spanish Inquisition come after the courageous Martin Luther nailed his letter to the church door ? How many people over the centuries have been slain in religious wars, because they believed differently than the other side ? I read a joke about a professor who instructed his class to write a paper on whether heat was endothermic or ectothermic (I think I have the terms right) One student following an intelligent line of reasoning came up with one statement in the course of his paper, "All souls end up in hell, because there are many religions in the world that know those who believe differently will go to hell - everybody goes." That got me to laughing so hard that I lost a mouthful of coffee. A very humorous bit of a sentence which makes a very astute point. When applied to all aspects of life shouldn't we all say Mea Culpa ? I think that most of us have set ourselves above some others and tried to by peer pressure make them do as we think they should.

Public safety and wellfare rule that many things should be gone about so as not to disturb the peace or hurt any one. The pressure that I have encountered is one of the reasons that I am a believer who probably will only go to a formal church service because one or another of my family has something going on that I feel my presence is required. In my memory, which might be faulty as heck, I think Jesus' words were such as, "Wherever three meet in my name, there am I," makes me remember that the Mission Church fostered by the church I belonged to was the one I finally started going to exclusively -- a very small frame building, with limited seating and attendance, where the Word was preached, simply and beautifully.

Political Correctness, Book Banning, Censorship, frivolous laws and ordnances, many of those things tend to hamper the God given treasure, "free will" which I think was given to us and was to be used with common sense and love toward others. IMHO, my own personal view of life. It seems to me that the customs of this country are leading us toward, "Chaos."

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008