Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-09-23 - 21:06 MDT

September 23, 2000

Eh ?

It's the end of my day and becoming quite obvious to me that I have some variety of virus -- probably what we used to call the "Stomach Flu." Yukkers. From which I will have probably recovered by tomorrow morning. I hope so.

My thoughts are somewhat disconnected and uncomfortable tonight, but mainly have to do with the spiritual things which have come up for me lately. Reluctantly trying to place myself where I should be in this existence. Reluctant because I know that it will require change and change is not something an old man cherishes.

To be forcibly drug from my curmudgeonly lair does ruffle my fur a bit, on the other hand it must be done to escape the rising waters.

After my rant of last night, the realization that our country is in deep doo-doo is the burr under my saddle. Obviously laws, law enforcement and the escalating building of prisons is not doing the country much good. And as has been pointed out to me, the legalization of things is no solution either. Maybe if we could back up to the generation before the Great Depression and educate children as those people did, we wouldn't be afloat in the turbulent waters of moral disintegration and addiction that we are now.

I keep saying to myself, "Someone has to do something other than pass ineffective, unenforceable laws. Something good must come from this mess. At least I pray so."

What are we to do, eh ?

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008