Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-10-18 - 18:23 MDT

October 18, 2000

Preps

Winter is coming and Heather and I did some of the necessary things to get ready for it. Prime of course is our Saturn -- tires are okay and rotated, battery and alternator checked on the machine, oil and filter changed, radiator and crankcase flushed and filled with the appropriate fluids, and the other things they normally do and then they washed it squeaky clean.

On the patio we covered the two stacks of plastic chairs, depotted most of the growing things and made things as neat and tidy as we could and among other things we had another delightful lunch together and conversed in a place where hearing is more comfortable for me.

Talk in the car is hard for me to read -- old ears don't like the additional noise from the other vehicles and street. Same thing in a group of people, I can't hear the cross talk nor what is being said at the other end of the table or the room. I usually manage to sit beside someone who knows me and clues me in on what is going on. It isn't the same though, but my family is considerate and make sure that I don't feel left out. Here at the apartment the men congregate on the patio and hearing the talk is easy, but when we go in and join the ladies there is too much for me to hear well enough to be a part of it. One of the reasons I guess, is in our family the ladies talk very softly and just won't raise their voice except in a scream. That usually means trouble and I would rather not hear a screech. Another trouble I have noticed is because my hearing losses are all up and down the human sound spectrum there are some voices I just can't hear. For a long time I was unconsciously watching lips to try to make out what was being said, and when I make the effort, it helps -- mostly on the news casters and the people in the public eye. Their lip motions and expressions are if anything more emphasized than we poker faced deadpans out in the real world come up with. I have noticed that most of us can and do talk without moving our lips or changing expressions (we would make good Charlie McCarthys). Another thing I have found out is that for multiple reasons I need the person talking to me to face me.

My TV when I am not on the net and use it in a normal fashion, does have closed captions.

My world even when I could hear well contained books, books and more books and as long as my eyes hold out it will be that way forever.

If I ever get to go to a Journalcon, I will probably sit in the front lobby with a sign that says, "pet me," or something, maybe, "I will stand up, shake hands and say hello in return for a smile." or, "Anybody for rummy, chess, mumblety peg ?"

I have longed to be able to pour out my kettle of steaming words -- and now there are eyes out there to listen -- and oh, am I thankful.

There are people out in the land of diarys and journals who have my weird sense of humor, who appreciate the wonders of life -- art and scenery. Out there are people who like to get comfortable and smell an apple pie coming out of the oven or fresh bread baking. Ones who like a good pot of stew and maybe a piece of peach or rhubarb pie, and wiggle their bare naked toes under the table and wearily slide into a fresh made bed and relax for the night.

I doubt if there any two people in the world who feel exactly like others do -- but in this game "close'ees," count. I am in a place I can compare to places I have been reading about (Jaeme) for one, feeling someone else's experiences and enjoyment as they do, and feelings the same as others feel them, rail at injustice as they do and mourn when they do. And grin and belly laugh with them. I can surf the net and visit art museums and even read books there, get our local weather forecast and find out exactly what time it is here, catch the local and world news and views.

About the only thing I can't do is to fry eggs on my Webtv, I like them out of a frying pan anyhow. Another thing I can't accomplish is to adequately explain to friends and family why I am so attached to the web. It doesn't seem to have much meaning when I tell them that e-mail is my preferred line of communication -- I can send e-mail at my convenience and the receiver can also read when time allows. They say, "What if you want to get hold of someone right now ?" And I reply somewhat like this, "That's what telephones are for, and if the person I am calling is home and so inclined then a conversation takes place." I go on further to mention that people on the phone do not want to wait while someone goes to the bathroom or the fridge for a snack, but a person reading e-mail can put on a fresh pot of coffee or make a pot of tea, even eat a meal if desired and get back to it when they want to. On e-mail I don't get put on "hold" nor do I stand there and listen to a something ringing somewhere or get some "smart ass" thing on an answering machine.

Twice a year I have been doing a telephoning job, I take my amplified phone with me and go to it. But answering machines are a mirror of the person who has the phone and the image isn't always so great. I tried to get Heather to let me put on our answering machine, "You have reached the number you just dialed and we are where we can't hear the phone right now, if you recognize my voice you know I will get back with you. I am broke and don't buy anything over the phone. There will be a beep -- it's up to you." She says it is too smart assy and won't let me play. It makes me laugh when I answer the phone and immediately the person on the other end says, "Who is this ?" My reply -- "Who is calling and wants who ?" I hate the ones who get me on the phone and won't let me diplomatically say good bye but feel that if they keep me on the line long enough I will play their silly game. Most of them I can fend off by saying, "Thanks for calling, please send me a brochure in the mail." I have never received one and neither does the person on the phone ask me for a mailing address. That tells me something.

Well, this Wondering Jew strode along singing, "I Wonder As I Wander" and wandered again. Is that song Christmas Music ?

So we are putting summer clothes away and pulling out a variety of cold weather gear which will let us be comfortable in whatever temperature exists at the moment. We know that we are forgetting something and hope we remember it before the time comes, meanwhile we do our Preps . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008