Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-10-20 - 21:00 MDT

October 20, 2000

Another Look

Going over what I said the other night about growth control -- where the hell were they when Goliath and Godazilla were pups ?

It might be a little too late to think about growth control. Vacant spaces between buildings are being or have been filled. The prairie is being filled surrounding DIA (the do all be all airport).

Before I retired, my homeward course was southbound on I-25 from Westminster, usually travelled about the right time for the rising sun to be reflected off the windows of the houses built up on our foothills. In the thirteen years I worked out there those reflected facets of sprawl grew more numerous each year. The counties surrounding Denver have been growing by leaps and bounds for years.

There are little towns north of Denver, once little coal mining towns which are being swelled by the people from Boulder, Fort Collins and Loveland, (all nearby) who do the high tech work in those aforementioned towns. Denverites seeking reasonable rents and fairly priced homes find themselves out bid already.

This short and sweet entry is something that came to me the other night after I posted.

If the idea to limit growth is what the rabid do-gooders want -- WHERE THE HELL WERE THEY WHEN GODZILLA AND GOLIATH WERE PUPS ? ?

By the way, I wonder just how many Denverites of one year or five year residency are pushing for growth limits ? Looks to me that they are the scales on Godzillas back. A case of, "I've got mine, to hell with you maybe ?

I wonder how many of the Newbies would have whistled out of their lower nostril if growth control was in existence when they were headed here ?

I think what those in control need to do is fall back five and prepare to try for a field goal or get off the field.

All this is my opinion from beginning to end, but I think it is a good one.

The complete situation is so complex and possibly hopeless that it will take the greatest brains in the world to come up with a viable plan. And Brainier yet will the experts be who convince people to do the needful things.

So you big smart politicians and city planners get real and take another look.�

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008