Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

2000-10-22 - 20:05 MDT

October 22, 2000

Scales

Maybe scales can weigh something material which has physical weight, mass -- whatever. But, how can a person truly weigh the truth ?

For instance and not getting lawyers into the picture, there in the near future, is a divorce. He can tell you his ideas and what he thinks is the truth, likewise she tells what she thinks is the truth. The same events led up to it, but there are two different versions. But, then, there is the real truth which no one will ever know because there is no one but the Lord who can say the truth and fewer yet who will accept the real truth.

Another complication in the search for truth is the difference of opinion of what each used word means. A person makes a statement, the other processes the words to mean "x" but unfortunately the one speaking meant "m," something entirely different. To further cloud the search for truth, is the possibility that the speaker is mistaken in the real definition of the words used, as well as the fact that maybe the listener does not know the real definition of those words either.

Tower of Babble -- yeah I know it is mis-spelled, but babble it is, in my mind. And the only thing we have to sort things out is our own faulty reasoning powers and the limited knowledge we have of the people involved and our estimate of the motives of each party in opposition.

Honesty opposed by conviction ? Maybe sometimes. Generosity opposed by greed ? All too often. And then there are often mixed motives on both sides. Geez what a mess !

Many of the people involved in controversy haven't been running long enough to establish a track record -- then one recourse is the knowledge of how their parents raised them. Which is the firebrand tossed on the frame house, "OH, my child would NEVER do anything like that ! ! ! -- works for some even if the kid is about to go on Social Security.

I guess this entry is not long enough for Bastion -- he likes beaucoup words. As for me though maybe my search for the man living in my body is enough. I can catch myself in a lie, I can tell my devious smokescreen. I know I will come up light, but I must look in the mirror of my soul and mind to see the truth, to use a counterbalance in one pan and place my self on the truth Scales . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008