Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Sept. 03, 2005 - 20:54 MDT

THE BLESSED PAST

Tonight I am overloaded and today I over-did to too great an extent. I sit here at the keyboard for awhile and can think nothing to say, really. Burnt out with the recent flood news and hoping for some kind of solution for those who no longer have a home in New Orleans or even a home town called New Orleans. Hard to even think about.

A safe haven from things like this when it becomes a bit much to cope with is a retreat to fond memories of the past.

The memory of our two girls, just a year apart, as babies. I had a lot to do with their care as Heather was working nights and it was up to me.

The necessary things being done and cleared away, I would lay out a thick blanket on the floor and take the two babies on the blanket. Managing to lay on my side, bent in an arc, two babies in the crook of my body and me with my head propped up reading a book in between the needs of the girls.

They would play baby style for a bit and gradually slow down and begin to doze, finally going to sleep completely. I would make sure they were comfortable and covered up and continue reading.

Near time for Heather's return from work I would get up, put the babies to bed with a bottle. Heather's return from work was a pleasure to me and knowing that things were under control and she would have a decent nights sleep helped me no end.

I spent quite a bit of time then with them, and treasure every moment.

Our oldest girl was unwittingly the cause of a bit of hard feelings between Heather and I. I was working second shift when she was a little baby. I would come in from work after midnight and she would be beginning to stir in her crib. Trying to be Mr. Good-Daddy, I would get her up, change her night clothes and diaper, heat her bottle, hold her in my lap in the rocking chair and spend some real quality time with her. Would that I could have stayed on second shift. However, they knocked off second shift and day shift was the only slot left.

Family routine underwent a change of course. I had to go to work early in the morning, so Heather became the feeder in the night. Of course, she had to do the same shtick with the baby. Complete change of bedclothes, diaper and rocking the baby while she took her bottle. Mr. Unpopularity I was.

But the kids grew, and so did I, along came more kids for us bringing more love and happiness with them.

Our daughter who turned out to be our "middle" daughter had Perthe's and had to go around on crutches and wear a sling to keep her from using her one leg and putting pressure on her hip bone while the white covering of the joint grew back. I learned much about human nature and human adaptability from her. She seemed to have been born being an expert in the use of crutches. She could outrun most kids her age, play tag and all that sort of thing. She met life with good cheer and joy and never seemed to feel sorry for herself. She went to a special school in Tampa that had kids with various disabilties attending. She demonstrated her character while going there. Teachers told us how she helped any kid do anything they needed assistance with, seemingly accepting that was the way life was for some kids and it was her job to help when needed.

Each of our kids gave us lessons in life as they grew up. Our boys, at the appropriate ages, got ticked because I was always one step ahead of them. Of course I was, I had been there, tried that and suffered the consequences before I had become old enough to consider that perhaps someday I would be a father. It was a piece of cake to see the wheels go around in their head and know the appropriate moves to keep them out of trouble. Much to their disgust.

Remembering our oldest boy, getting up very early in the mornings and going to the paper station with me, rolling the papers and throwing his side of the car as we cruised the neighborhood.

Further down the line he showed me what he had learned on the paper route as he worked the summer at the place where I was working. He had learned much and practised it. He has never regressed I believe.

Tonight, for a little while I have regressed to THE BLESSED PAST . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008