Contact Kelli,
temporary manager
of Doug's
"The Wondering Jew"

Sept. 08, 2005 - 19:49 MDT

THE FAR FUTURE

Finally will come the day when every live body is evacuated from New Orleans, and as many of the pets as can be also saved. Then comes the grisly task of recovering, transporting and burying of bodies, and I wonder how far inland will those unfortunate bodies will have to be taken to be interred ?

Then the water is finally pumped out.

Now comes the task of rebuilding a large seaport and all the infrastructure to handle the traffic. Repairing and rebuilding tank farms and refineries, rail systems, streets and highways. Somewhere along the line there will much that has to be bulldozed to make way for livable housing too.

I guess the thing that concerns me is that just throwing money at a problem usually doesn't solve it. It takes dedicated, hard working and harder thinking people to make the miracle of restoration happen.

I tried to google figures on freight traffic in and out of New Orleans for the past several years and found I didn't know how to ask the questions of google. I could get bits and pieces here and there but not everything. It is my idea that New Orleans up 'til Katrina was a great seaport, I hope it can be again, but methinks there is much to do on into the THE FAR FUTURE . . . . . . . . . . .

0 comments so far
<< previous next >>

Blog



back to top

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! read other DiaryLand diaries! about me - read my profile!

Registered at Diarist.Net
Registered at Diarist Net Registry

Diarist
My One
Best Romantic Entry

Diarist Awards Finalist---Most Romantic Entry; Fourth Quarter 2001
Golden Oldies?
Best Romantic Entry



This site designed and created by

2000-2008